What could this be? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2005, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy What could this be?

Just as a vague question:

If I am running a 3d app like:
America's Army
JFK Reloaded
Jedi Outcast
and I hit the keyboard and it crashes, what on earth could be going on?

It used to happen frequently until I replaced my motherboard. The problem stopped. And now it's happening again. To add confusion to this, I find that it happens MOST days - but on some days, it will work perfectly. And note, that if I do not touch the keyboard on a 'bad' day, then everything works fine.

No one I have ever spoken to has the slightest clue as to what is going on. I've often speculated that it might be the video card, but the last person I spoke to reckons it is the motherboard. I am almost certain that I have installed nothing peculiar that might have caused this odd situation.

Most of all the thing that annoys me that it isn't every day that this happens. There are rare days when 3d apps will run perfectly. No combination of settings, no amount of restarting and no 'safe mode' seems to make things run normally on a 'bad' day. I simply have to go to bed and see if it's better in the morning.

I can post the technical specs of my machine (and probably find out the brand of motherboard) if anyone thinks it will help (never has before).

Could this be something mundane, like a dodgy keyboard? I really am desperate for a solution, as this has been happening on and off for 3 years and even replacing hardware hasn't offered a permanent solution.

Thanks in advance.

Rick Moranis is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114

Maybe its overheating, too many apps open or ur cpu is running very hard and crashes b/c of that. What kind of crash is it, what happens exactly? I used to have a problem when running Word + Wordperfect at the same time. My computer would just crash after a little while of use, then it would reboot and id start working again then again it would do it. The problem was that i had a faulty power supply and therefore the system was overheating and to protect itslef from such high temps, it would crash and reboot.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Sounds like either your graphics card can't handle the video mode you have set in the game, drivers, or your directX isn't up to date.

Check those first.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5

Well I've tried updating DirectX before. And the crashes continue no matter what the settings are. (The video card is a Winfast A340 so it should be able to handle a fair bit of punishment anyway).

I am inclined to think that it might be overheating because of the intermittent nature of the problem. Should I try leaving the case open?
Rick Moranis is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

When you put in the new motherboard did you format and reinstall your windows or whatever OS you use or just plug in the old drive.Id reformat and reinstall before i did anything else. you say 3 years so you probably did a reinstall what hardware did you replace.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5

Well - there's been one time I've reformatted. But actually what I've been doing more often that not is using a new drive for C every now and then (taking the old C drive and using it as another drive like D or whatever).

Originally, I got a new videocard which simply refused to work out. We took this and put it in my brothers computer and it worked fine. So then we dumped our old motherboard and stuck a new one in. Works fine - and I don't think we reformatted, so there were no software changes that I can recall.

Things were peachy for a few months. However, I hadn't installed anything new around the time of the problem resurfacing. No one seems able to figure out exactly what the problem is - so I am hoping it's something silly and small. Like maybe something is jiggled out of place, or one of my nostril hairs has been sucked up into the machinery... anything. Just as long as it isn't expensive.
Rick Moranis is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15

did u replace ur keyboard? Maybe thats a posibility
trey is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5

Well this is one thing I am not sure of. The keyboard has been with me for a few years, but whether or not this coincided with the machine acting up, I've no idea. And the fact remains that the keyboard was the same when the new motherboard was installed and the problem gone.

Still. Wouldn't hurt to try a new one eh?
Rick Moranis is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock

I'd go with overheating beacuse I've had a very similar problem recently. Had my case opened and everything worked perfectly so I decided to buy another fan.
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 01:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Rick Moranis, i dont think it has anything to do with your keyboard. If a keyboard is bunk, it will simply not work. I never heard of a keyboard crashing a system. But what would help alot is if you told us what kind of computer you have. Another thing would be what are your computer specs.

Such as Video Card/Processor/RAM/Mobo. That would help alot. Without knowing what kind of system you have, it would be pretty hard to figure out what may be the problem. But im guessing its your Video Card, and RAM, maybe even your processor. Im going with out-dated hardware.

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.