What computer would I need to run 10 css servers? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 05:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

may i ask how the heck are you gettin a 100mbit pipe? are you starting an isp something? or a you just bloddy rich?
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Dedicated Gaming Server:

1.) OS: Windows XP or Linux

2.) CPU
Players CPU Speed Required
Up to 8 933 MHz
9 to 16 1.6 GHz
17 to 32 2.4 GHz
32+ 3.0 GHz

3.) High-speed network and bandwidth: In a LAN environment, 100BaseT Ethernet and corresponding switches will be adequate for full-speed game playing. Avoid wireless connectivity, because wireless has a higher latency than wired Ethernet. Latency dictates how fast the server can receive and respond to movements by client gameplayers¬óthe lower the latency, the smoother the gameplay experience. If your server will to be offered to remote players over the Internet, then a dedicated ADSL line is adequate for as many as eight players. Higher-speed SDSL or cable connections, or fractional T1, will be needed for between nine and 15 players. For 16 to 32 players, T1 speeds are required. And for more than 32 concurrent users, you'll need multiple megabits per second.

4. ) Game Server Software

5.) System Memory - More is better
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

hehe i have some poeple that know some people and I get it free. And Do you guys think a xp2400 1gig ram could run 2 20 slot servers?
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yes, should run fine.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

do you think If I ran 3 servers it would lag?
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 07:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

hmm 3 might be stretching it, all u can do is try. (But make sure u try with every server full at the same time)
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

hmm but how could I make all three full?
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 10:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you got 2 Opteron 242's and an MSI MSI MS-9130 you should be able to run at least 4 dedicated cs:s servers on it.
each Opteron 2** processor emulates 2 CPU's. sort of like Intel's Hyperthreading.
if you get 2, the system will have 4 virtual processors
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.