what is computer speed/performance? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default what is computer speed/performance?

hello all.. first post. just trying to find some good advice/answers.

I've been researching laptops for quite a bit now, trying to find the best laptop.. The one I've been really thinking about getting is the Compaq Presario V2000..

has a pretty good price, is 14 inches (not too big or small).. is light and compact.. ect..

I've been looking up reviews for this laptop, and they always come out great..being one of the best laptops out there.. long battery life, very light, many features included, etc.. The only drawback i've seen is "slow performance". and its a constant "con" posted by many reviewers from different review sites/forums. check examples:

http://laptopmag.com/Review/Compaq-Presario-v2000.htm

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1722322,00.asp

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/artic...,120200,00.asp

http://google2-cnet.com.com/Compaq_Presario_V2000_Customizable_Notebook_PC/4545-3121_7-31447623.html?tag=tab

what does that mean?? given it has the same processor, memory, and hard drive, how can this laptop perform slower? Or lack performance speed?

is it the way the laptop is wired? or does compaq lack quality?

seems like it might just be the crappy graphics card.. could I buy a good one and replace it?

any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
vega.
__________________

vega is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Peformance is how high it would score in a test.

If they instaled the same parts, every laptop would be the same. But alot of things affect peformance, power, length's of traces, chipsets ect.

And you CANNOT replace the graphics card.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

so i'm guessing i shouldnt worry abotu performance then right.. I'ma be getting 2gb ram, and 1.8mhz..

i'll most likely not use the computer for gaming, so maybe the graphics card wont matter.
vega is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

very good call. if there's no heavy gaming, you won't need any special graphics card. The 'computer' doesn't process slowly, it's probably guys trying to run some newer age games with integrated video. It's not great but runs applications and OS's just fine.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Default PC performance Tips

Many people think that buying an expensive PC is enough to relax for a lifetime. But it is not true! You have to spend a little time taking care of your PC so that your PC will reward you a reliable service for a lifetime. These PC performance tips will help you to keep your PC fine and fit.

VengaBoyz
VengaBoyz is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i wouldnt get any of thosse man. gove me a few minutes and ill find the site. you can get a killer gaming laptop for about 1400$
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

http://www.pctorque.com/builder.php?type=63
right there man killer man dont upgrade to the 1 gig because u can get the ram on newegg for 50$ less. and upgrade the processor.no warranties its all a bunch of balogne.and pick everything you want.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i wouldnt reccommend getting 2gigs of ram, i hear that you cant tell between 1 and 2 gigs in a laptop...although i might be wrong (my laptop only has 512MB)
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.