What are codenames for? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Default What are codenames for?

I recently downloaded CPU-Z and it says my code name is throughbred . What exactly does that mean?
__________________

__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ihs/images/Ibe34324.gif
AMD Athalon Xp 2200+ 1.8Ghz|
256mbs of Kensington DDR-SDRAM|
15\" LCD|Loghitech Wireless mouse|
White Box Case|75GB+30GB HD

Sig and Avatar by mac_mogul
foxdii is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Its just a classification thing. That, and the makers wanted to give their new processors a fancy name, makes em feel special :classic:

800th post :classic:
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Does that make certain codenames faster than others, or is it just like a cataglory of when that processor was made?
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ihs/images/Ibe34324.gif
AMD Athalon Xp 2200+ 1.8Ghz|
256mbs of Kensington DDR-SDRAM|
15\" LCD|Loghitech Wireless mouse|
White Box Case|75GB+30GB HD

Sig and Avatar by mac_mogul
foxdii is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Aint the code name the name of the core?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Yes, it is the name of the core.

Different cores have different designs and therefore, have duifferent names.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

It's pretty much the name they give the product before it's actually released.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it means you have the second core type of the Athlon XP's
Athlon XP's come with one of these cores:
Palomino
Thoroughbred
Barton
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.