what chassis fan? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2004, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default what chassis fan?

what is a good manufacturer for
case fans

i was looking at thermaltake, is that the best brand. how would i make sure that it derives power from a 3 pin outlet(is that what they call a header?)

do i need a second fan elsewhere to ensure proper airflow within the machine
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: what chassis fan?

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
do i need a second fan elsewhere to ensure proper airflow within the machine
That would depend on the case you have or the one you plan to buy. That would also depend on if you're gonna do any overclocking. For most mid-tower cases 2 is sufficient; i don't have sufficient expereince w/ other types to say for sure.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

it is a mid range machine, i could go for 2 chassis fans, but where can i place the second chassis fans. someone told me that i could stick in the PCI slot!, is that possible?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

question?.. if for example u wonted to put in 6 or 8 case fans.. couldnt u just pull the positive and negative terminal outa one of the power adapters and just crimp in as many fan power cords as u wont, or splice in as many as u wont? it doesnt need to be connected to the mobo does it? and it doesnt matte how many u put on 1 power line from the PSU does it?
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
it is a mid range machine, i could go for 2 chassis fans, but where can i place the second chassis fans. someone told me that i could stick in the PCI slot!, is that possible?
Yes heres a pic , but dont think it ran on the power from the pci slot

__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

thats a sweet looking pci slot fan, just wonder how effective it is.....
jaksback is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 09:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

i think its for blowing air on to a vid card.
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 06:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

The best chases fans to get will depend on the case you have .Sense i purchased an Antec P160 i will allways use cases that house 120 mm fans.I have 1 Enermax 120 mm with fan speed control in the Front and 1 in the rear. This setup works super .I used to have a case with 2 - 80mm fans in the front and 2 in the rear and it was plain noisey plus didnt move as much air as the 120 mm fans do.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 07:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

I dont have a topnotch case, a really basic one, and when i put the case covers up, and play some graphics intensive game, it heats up and starts beeping. i was thinking of putting in a case fan(yes, it lacks a case fan), how do i know which fan do i put in it.
should i just go for a 80 mm fan.
is enermax the make i should go for?

that pci fan was real fancy, i got a massive fan on my graphics car, do you think i still need that pci fan, where woudl i t get its power from?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

there should be a place to install a fan .If you have none 2 -80 mm fans will help alot thats usually the standard size .start by buying an 80 mm fan and open the case to see where you can place it to where it pulls heat out of the case in the rear. Next see if you can squeeze 1 in the front somewhere to pull air into the case .You can pick the fans up at Comp USA , BEST buy,Circuit City even staples carries them.If your not sure unplug the system and take it to Comp usa a tech will give you some advice for free.Or even put them in if you buy them there.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.