What can i do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2009, 02:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default What can i do?

Ok so i got this problem, i want to upgrade my Hard drive from a 320GB 5400rpm to a 320GB 7200rpm. I have the program to make an image of my hard drive and i have a 1TB external where i can store it. however i dont know how im going to get that image back on my new 7200rpm Hard drive. i only have my laptop with only one Hard drive bay and my external Hard drive. Is their anything i can do to get the image of my old hard drive onto my new one without buying anything else?
__________________

808Alaska is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What can i do?

Do you have a friend with a desktop that you could use for the task?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 03:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: What can i do?

no, i have another laptop i can use but i dont think that will help.

however i have Knoppix on a disc that i can boot from. do you think i could possible use that?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What can i do?

If it will recognize a usb drive you should be just fine.

You can try clonzilla as well.
Clonezilla
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: What can i do?

Hefe is right your computer and program both should be able to pick up your usb hard drive. There is also acronis that you can use.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.