What can be added to a DDR 266 256MB ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default What can be added to a DDR 266 256MB ram?

can I add a 512 mb or does it have to be the same?
__________________

Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

OH NOES this is the simplest question
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

As long as the speeds are the same, you can add as much as you want.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can add modules of different sizes and speeds. They slowest module will deermine the overall speed at wich all of your RAM is running.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Kadahaf,

And depending on the motherboard , the max RAM supported is between 2GB - 4GB for a 32 bit processor.

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 07:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

ahh thanks guys I just thought that they had to be the same Mb size
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 07:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
Kadahaf,

And depending on the motherboard , the max RAM supported is between 2GB - 4GB for a 32 bit processor.

Actually, its not the CPU wich is limited to 4GB of RAM. Its the OS. (and the mobo ofcourse)
All modern 32bit CPU's are capable of adressing 64GB of RAM.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 08:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
Actually, its not the CPU wich is limited to 4GB of RAM. Its the OS. (and the mobo ofcourse)
All modern 32bit CPU's are capable of adressing 64GB of RAM.
http://www.micro2000uk.co.uk/techtip..._64bit_cpu.htm

Quote:
Every CPU from the 386 to the latest Pentium and Athlon processors has used a 32-bit architecture, which means that the internal registers of the CPU are 32 bits wide. In other words, 32 bits of data are the most the CPU can handle on a single instruction cycle, and a block of data that size is considered to be one ‘word’ of data for that CPU. A ‘word’ not only determines the size of a program instruction, but also the maximum size of a RAM location that the CPU can address. This turns out to be 4,294,967,295, which means that a 32-bit architecture can use a maximum of 4 GB of RAM. By comparison, a 64-bit architecture can address 16 exabytes (16 billion GB) of RAM.


Cheers.
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 08:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
http://www.micro2000uk.co.uk/techtip..._64bit_cpu.htm

Quote:
80386DX Adress bus: 32-bit
80486SX Adress bus: 32-bit
80486DX Adress bus: 32-bit
Pentium Adress bus: 32-bit
Pentium Pro Adress bus: 36 bit
Pentium II Adress bus: 36 bit
Pentium III Adress bus: 36 bit
http://www.techtutorials.com/tutoria...rocessor.shtml

Quote:
Intel® Celeron®
General Specs of the Celeron Family:


Internal Register Size: 32-bit
Data I/O Bus Width: 64-bit
Memory Address Bus Width: 36-bit
Maximum Memory: 64 GB
http://www.globalspec.com/help/spech...67&sectionid=2
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 08:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Although 36-bit addressing is technically a change in processor technology, an OS must support 36-bit addressing to take advantage of this capability. Microsoft has built 36-bit addressing support into Win2K's kernel. However, Microsoft has stated that only selected Win2K versions, which will likely be Win2K AS and Datacenter, will support 36-bit addressing. At press time, Win2K AS and Datacenter are the only Win2K versions that provide 36-bit addressing support.
http://www.winntmag.com/Articles/Pri...ArticleID=7275
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.