What brand RAM should I get??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Arrow What brand RAM should I get???

Hey, for my new PC .... well, i want it to be fast and kick @$$, so what RAM should i get? i only want 1GB, price doesn't really matter but don't just go crazy (you know, don't give me some $400 ram stix). I don't know if i'll overclock, but I'll have them in Dual Channel, so what exatcly should I get?? I heard OCZ is good, and Kingston, and Corsair, so which one?
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

there's no such thing as a kickass ram without ocing...

a $70 generic one will be as fast as the $280 g skill without ocing

kingston sucks, corsair sucks

just for for a gig of twinmos
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

G.Skills are the best for OCing. Corsair does suck despite what a lot of people say. Only reason i have Corsair XMS pro is cuz of a free upgrade. OCZ Platinum stuff is also real good
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

G.Skill.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

at only $87, you can a gig of twinmos like i said, if you decide to OC, you can easily do it with a DFI lanparty board (only board you should be considering if you're gonna upgrade to AMD)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

OCZ
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

best stuff:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231006
GageMW is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

OCZ, and it clocks well
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well this is just a useless thread

people throwing out random brands for no reason...

but maybe it's because of the dumb question, you shoulda stated your price range, if you ever planned on OCing, and asked for a specific model of ram, since asking for the brand is just pointless (unless you're buying at those retarded online stores that only give you a choice of brand for their ram i.e. alienware, cyberpower, ibuypower)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dude, i don't have a price range, ok, fine, $0.0012584355 to $356.26985665855... ok, so i will overclock i gues..

so is it worth getting the stuff GageMW posted... i mean yeah, it is ddr 550 and 184 pin, but the cas latency is just a little too high, and the timing too... i dunno, what do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.