What is the best socket 478 PCI-E mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to the dome
Default What is the best socket 478 PCI-E mobo?

Hello,
I'm in the market for a new motherboard, after making a decision to go with PCI-E, I found another problem which mobo company and what chipset. Does anyone have any suggestions, it would appreciated.
__________________

the dome is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

You mean socket 775?

If price is no concern Asus P5AD2 is the only choice...
__________________

__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You mean socket 775?
there is a socket 478.....as to whether or not they have a socket 478 motherboard that has PCI-E I have no idea. I personally wouldn't get PCI-E yet as theres no real benefits to it at all. It hasn't been fully introduced into the 'scene' if ya get me. It's like when AGP 8x first came out, nothing took full advantage of it...same thing applies here
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

I know there is a socket 478 =), there is no socket 478 mobo w/ pcie...

I disagree, PCI express smokes...for those of us who want (need) the latest tech, it's worth all the bucks...
__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I know there is a socket 478 =), there is no socket 478 mobo w/ pcie...
Well thats what I was saying I wasn't sure if there was a PCI-E board for socket 478, but also I know nothing of Intel

But no way, PCI-E doesn't smoke yet, it hasn't been fully adapted into the computing scene. It's not even worth the bucks yet. Get any PCI-E based graphics card right now and put it up against an AGP card of the exact same make and model and you will see little to no difference in speed. I want (need) the latest in tech and at this point I wouldn't even buy a 64 as right now it's not fully utilized and my 2.7GHz XP-Mobile can beat out a 64 3500+ in the sisoftware sandra arithmatic and multimedia cpu benchmarks. It's the simple fact that the things aren't fully utilized but yeah here in a few months PCI-E based boards with the new chipsets and cards will be blazing. The only thing going for 64 bit systems is that they'll last a lot longer than my XP mobile when something like windows64bit comes out fully made and stable
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

PCI-E is a really good interface, it's the developers that have not yet made cards to utilize it fully

no they do not have socket 478 boards with PCI-E, it is only the socket 775 boards with the Intel 915 and 925 chipsets that support it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

I doubt there would be a socket 478 mobo w/ PCI-E. The socket 478 P4s are already bottlenecks for our future PCI-E Cards anyways.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to the dome
Default

Thanks for the info,

I've decided to stick with a agp mobo, just for the fact no games use the pci-e bandwidth and so it would be a needless investment. I think I'm gunna get a Abit 1c7-max3, anyone with any experience on that board?


,thanks
__________________

the dome is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.