What is The battery that holds the processor memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2005, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default What is The battery that holds the processor memory?

My friend got a mobo that is missing a "battery that does something for the processor
__________________

ILoveFPS's424 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i dont know what he is talking about
__________________

ILoveFPS's424 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Me neither, could it be the CMOS battery?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

it is a intel (the enemy) mobo
ILoveFPS's424 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Would have to be a CMOS battery....
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yah, a CMOS battery is the only thing it could be...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks now where would i get them for intel mobo pentium 2,3,4?
he doesnt know
ILoveFPS's424 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

He doesn't know what processor he has?

Well more than likely it is a p4...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Radioshack, computer stores, probably not Circuit City or Best Buy.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If he got a board that is missing the CMOS battery, I advise you RMA it...

I can't see a company just "forgetting" to install such a component unless they didn't bother with any quality control in the least way, shape or form
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.