What is this AMD comparable to in Pentium? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default What is this AMD comparable to in Pentium?

Hi, I'm not very knowledgable in computers, but what is a
AMD 3100+ 1.8 ghz processor comparable to as far as a
Pentium 4?

I researched around online and get different results.
__________________

sbliftmachine is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

approximately 3.1ghz
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
approximately 3.1ghz
add to that:
approximately a 3.1GHZ Pentium 4 (Prescott or Northwood)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

like a P4 3.2Ghz during gaming
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Here's a benchtest. I think the 3100 is a sempron(?) http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2004...html#directx_9


But as said above, in games compareable to a 3.2ghz P4 in games.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Here's a benchtest. I think the 3100 is a sempron
it is. there are no Athlon 64 3100's.

I've heard that the Semprons can overclock pretty well, because they run cool
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Cool, thanks guys...I'll pretty much be using this computer for school work and gaming. I was deciding on whether to buy a
P4 3.0ghz or a AMD 3100+ 1.8ghz.

I don't know how to build my own desktop so I'll be buying the system and it seems like the AMD is the clear choice. It's also cheaper than the P4 I was looking into.
sbliftmachine is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you change your mind and do decide to build, we're all here to help. it is a lot cheaper to build your own. all you need is some common sense and a few facts (which we can provide). the trick is fixing it when it doesn't work like it should.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
like a P4 3.2Ghz during gaming
If it's a Sempron, it'll be more like a 2.8Ghz P4 in gaming..
Kilew is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 11:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Yea I just found out that it is a Sempron...sorry for not realizing this before
__________________

sbliftmachine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.