What am I suppose to do about the grounds and front usb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default What am I suppose to do about the grounds and front usb?

Have a case with two 4 pin grounds but nowhere to put them. Should I just take them out or what?
Also there are two front usb ports but no connections from the case for the board. What am I suppose to do?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Now these grounds, are they kindof like small jumpers? little black boxes? if so, check the labels, they might hint to where ya plug them into your mobo. Check your mobo manual to see the jumper configurations for your little jumpers. Same goes for the front usb connectors.

The front usb ports should have some little jumpers you plug into the motherboard, mine were stuck in the faceplate, so I had to unscrew it to get them out, you might have to do the same. If they are, mobo manual, read the proper setup to plug them in, failiure to do so can fry ipods (hehe, I nearly did at the last crlan).
__________________

__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

it sound like your 2 problems have 1 solution...

the 2 4pin grounds are proabably not grounds... the internal USB ports use 4pin connectors. so your 2 4pin connectors are probably for the 2 front pannel USB ports. thy might of just used all black wire for some cheap reason reather then the propper collored wires.

the internal usb pins on the Motherboard are located in pairs, in a rectangle box(perhaps green or yellow or black). witch contains a set of 2rows of 10pins, it looks like 1 pin is missing(so 9pins).

use your motherboard manual to differentiate the propwer power and ground pins, then figure out witch of the wires on the case 4pin connector is gournd(perhaps theres a marking on the pin or wire). then connect them to the internal usb port.

EDIT: i just remembered, on all the case connection terminals, such as USB, HDD LED, RESET Button, etc. there is a tiny arrow on 1 pin, indicating +power (i think) i dont remember exactly but i think thats right.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
it sound like your 2 problems have 1 solution...

the 2 4pin grounds are proabably not grounds... the internal USB ports use 4pin connectors. so your 2 4pin connectors are probably for the 2 front pannel USB ports. thy might of just used all black wire for some cheap reason reather then the propper collored wires.

the internal usb pins on the Motherboard are located in pairs, in a rectangle box(perhaps green or yellow or black). witch contains a set of 2rows of 10pins, it looks like 1 pin is missing(so 9pins).

use your motherboard manual to differentiate the propwer power and ground pins, then figure out witch of the wires on the case 4pin connector is gournd(perhaps theres a marking on the pin or wire). then connect them to the internal usb port.

EDIT: i just remembered, on all the case connection terminals, such as USB, HDD LED, RESET Button, etc. there is a tiny arrow on 1 pin, indicating +power (i think) i dont remember exactly but i think thats right.
LOL, I thought the same thing but no such luck. They are grounds, even says on them though the wires are not all black. I plugged them in and when I turned the computer on a bunch of white smoke came on. I thought I fried the board even had a post on here flpping out trying to figure out what to do.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
LOL, I thought the same thing but no such luck. They are grounds, even says on them though the wires are not all black. I plugged them in and when I turned the computer on a bunch of white smoke came on. I thought I fried the board even had a post on here flpping out trying to figure out what to do.
What? why would a case have 8 useless ground wires attached to the case?

is there special stuff on your case that the wires connect to? you should prolly post a pic.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I don't know, the computer runs fine without them. They only have 4 pins not 9 so I guess they are not the usb. Plus the whole smokeing thing reinforces that. They have 4 pins and the diagram in my mobo manual only shows spots for 2 pin grounds. Its a cheap Foxconn case and their website doesn't even show it. Maybe I'll just call tommorow but I don't think that will get me very far.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Ya know, maybe I just plugged the ground wires into the usb ports backwards and they are the usb connectors because my other case has a 4 pin connector with the same colared wires going into it and it does say usb and only says ground next to the black wire.

This is my first build so a stupid mistake like that could be
possible.

But why is the usb headers on the mobo 9 pin and the connector from the case only 4?

Suggestions?
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

yes there are 9pins, but the one by iteself off the to side is unused, just ignore it. im too lazy to find a mobo book and c, but i think i remember that 9th pin being called 'key'. dont know why its there but just ignore it.

use your mobo book it tells you witch pins are ground. you could of pluged them in backwards, use the book first next time. iv never pluged them in backward so i dont know if that would cause smoking.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I'll have to check the book again, I actually didn't see anything on it last time. Though that was probably just my mistake.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.