What about Sempron? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Windows 32 bit, or Windows 64 bit
Windows XP Pro 32 bit 5 100.00%
Windows XP Pro 64 bit 0 0%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default What about Sempron?

Hi,
What do you think of the Sempron? I think it rocks! I just bought one and it's doing a great job, both for workstation and gamestation. And, also for overclocking. I have a 2600+ (1.83GHz) and I could overclock it to a 2800+ (2.00GHz) just by incresing the FBS (without incresing the VCORE).

I think the Sempron is great!
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Semprons suck really

You can get a mobile and overclock it WAAY further than a sempron and get it up to beating a 3.8GHZ Intel

Or you can get any normal chip

I am glad your happy with your sempron, but even if I downclock my chip to the same 2800+ speed as yours, you still dont hold a light to me.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

I know that if you unclock yours it will be better than mine because they only have 256 kb of cache but, they are almost the same as the Celeron. It does the job for a average user and it is cheap.

BTW: For those who don't know what is a Sempron... just go here
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It's a much better (and cheaper) alternative to a Celeron, true, but it's still not as good as a "regular" Pentium or Athlon processor, mobile or desktop.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Im an Intel guy...
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I would never get a Sempron, although I would get one before I would get a Celeron. I am not much for low-end budget processors. If you don't game though, it would be alright.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
I would never get a Sempron, although I would get one before I would get a Celeron. I am not much for low-end budget processors. If you don't game though, it would be alright.
I still like the 3.6ghz sempron some guy had, even though a slightly OC'ed FX-55 kills it
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 12:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I think semprons are great for just general use, as they are so cheap. Who needs a fx55 for surfing the internet :P
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

That's an excellent point Trifid. Most consumers, I'm willing to bet at least 50 percent, really don't need the additional power of an Athlon or Pentium. The power of these processors really only start to shine in games, image rendering, video editing, etc.

The average consumer web surfing, checking emails, word processing etc. will be fine with a Sempron/Celeron(D) and will save a helluva lot of money.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

I play games with that Sempron and it works very well... I can play UT2004 at 800x600 (my 14" screen can go higher) and with the best quality. (but with no AA). And, it doesn't lag. But, the game that I play the most is Dungeon Keeper soo "LOL!" And I play The Sims 2. And, games are working very well. But, I do more programming than I do gamming.
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.