What about a ABIT nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2004, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Question FX5200 vs. FX5600

Is this one good? Is there any big problem with it (like the MSI one that doesn't support FX cards) ?

Thanx
__________________

pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I donno who started this thing about MSi not supporting FX cards .. But is not True

Anywayz .. this review might help u out

Also i think Micro has the same board .. his opinion might help
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

true, try to get a motherboard that supports all your hardware, not the other way around if possible.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Well, I am talking about the MSI nForce2 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU, Model "K7N2-V" -RETAIL

I checked the reviews on newegg, and a dude said they don't support the FX cards.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

These are my components:

eVGA nVIDIA GeForce FX5200 Video Card, 128MB DDR, 128-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "e-GeForce FX5200(128-A8-N306-LX)" -RETAIL
Specifications:
Chipset/Core Speed: nVIDIA GeForce FX5200/250MHz
Memory/Effective Speed: 128MB DDR/400MHz
BUS: AGP 1X/2X/4X/8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)+TV-Out(S-Video Out)+DVI connector
Support 3D API: DirectX®9, OpenGL®1.4
Cable/Accessories: S-Video Cable, VGA via DVI Adapter, Driver CD
Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@60Hz

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton", 333 FSB, 512K Cache Processor - Retail
Specification
Model: AMD Athlon XP 2500+
Core: Barton
Operating Frequency: 1.83GHz
FSB: 333MHz
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/512K
Voltage: 1.65V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket A
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)

Corsair Value Select 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - OEM
Specification
Manufacturer: Corsair
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 2.5
Support Voltage: 2.5V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: 64M x 64 -Bit
Warranty: Lifetime

Maxtor 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model 6Y080P0, OEM Drive Only
Specifications:
Capacity: 80GB
Average Seek Time: 9.3 ms
Buffer: 8MB
Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM
Interface: IDE ULTRA ATA133
Features: Maxtor Shock Protection and Data Protection Systems
Manufacturer Warranty: 1 year
Remark: OEM Drive Only

Please read carefully and if you know a good and cheap (like under $70) mobo, then I will appreciate it. Also, if there is anything bad about any of these components, please let me know. Thanx a lot!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

My only suggestion would be .. not to go with the 5200FX .. it's not worth the money ..
U could probably pick up the 5600FX or radeon 9600 for just a little bit more
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

9600 XTs are prolly best for your money
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Which model are you looking at? I have the NF7 series....with no issues right now...as they have been resolved. The AN7 Series..does have a few issues that you may need to address depending on what hardware componets you decide to use.
I have the AN7 and if you have any information about it I would like it, thanks.
Erik is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
9600 XTs are prolly best for your money
actually, those are 150 bucks, when the FX 5200 are 72. I found a card: GAINWARD nVIDIA GeForce FX5600XT Video Card, 128MB DDR, 64-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "FX PowerPack! Ultra/760 TV/DVI" -RETAIL , but I never heard of GAINWARD so I am afraid to get it. There is also a ALBATRON vid card, same as the one above, just a dollar more. I was just wondering which one you recommand.
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 11:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

oh, and what is wrong about the FX5200. The specs are the same except the 5200 is 128-bit while the 5600 is 64.

thanx
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.