What the - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2005, 09:48 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

If you have Windows XP restore ur computer it happened 2 me lozza of timez just restore it 2 an erlier point


Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:12 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

put the CDROM drive on the same chanel as the hard drive, it may just be the secondary channel is not working properly

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:16 AM   #23 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50

u obviously pluged something wrong make sure that the ide cable or stata w/e u have is pluged it in tight and make sure when it plugs in the mother board like ide slot 1 / slot 2 make sure its in teh right slot or else its not gona read it becuz ur bios might be set to read ur cd roms from slot 1 and u ppluged it in slot 2 see wat i mean so try that and evn if if spins or w/e that means theere is power going 2 it but the harddrive cant read it cuz its either loose or pluged in wrong
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:50 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone

Try plugging it into different IDE slots, or get an addon card.
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 12:43 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37

ok let me restate what I've found so far...IT IS A WINDOWS PROBLEM. IN LINUX THE DRIVE WORKS FINE (no problems). WINDOWS RESTORE DOES NOT DO A THING FOR SOME REASON. It says it cannot restore the system to an earlier point and thus doesn't change anything. There are previous restore points but trying them doesn't do a thing.

buzzard34 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.