What the - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 03:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default

aha but first i'll have to pry open my case and see what exact model the drive is.
__________________

buzzard34 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default

ok here's an update: System Restore did nothing, and replacing the cable did nothing either. D/l some drivers but didnt use them cuz they're not compatible w/ XP. So now i have to check for some sort of software error.
__________________

buzzard34 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Hey man! I don't know why but.... *sniff* my cd rom *sniff* suddendly stoped worked after I readed this post! *sniff* lol
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default

i dont get it
buzzard34 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

do u have the jumpers set correctly?
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jerry5739
do u have the jumpers set correctly?
For me, yes, and its displayed in my computer but when i put a cd, windows freeze!
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 11:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Have you solved ur problem buzzard34?

Try using 'Find New Hardware Wizard' in the control panel and see if you have anything.

Also, did u install any new hardware?
LeXon is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 04:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default

nope nothing. The jumpers are set to CSEL (makes my cd burner slave and the dvd drive master). I think my last chance is to rollback an IDE driver i recently put in and see if that does anything. I know the drive is good becuase it works under linux (and yes it reads back a dvd and cd) so it has to be a Winblows problem of some sort.
buzzard34 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 10:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Default

DAMN
the driver rollback didn't do anything...so i guess i should get a newer DVD drive
buzzard34 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 10:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

RESTORE UR PC IT HAPPENED 2 ME once
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.