Western Digital= FAIL - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2008, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Western Digital= FAIL

Anyways i was downloading something overnight and the next day when i get to my pc it says the location the info was being written can no longer be found. So i figured maybe a sata cable came loose or something like it has on this HDD before. Well that isn't the problem.

I reboot my pc and the HDD spins up, but clicks every few seconds so i knew the head was stuck or something. I am thinking oh **** i got nearly 500 gigs of info on there since it was a 500 gig HDD. So i'm not worried about the drive failing as much as the info that i had on it. Movies, music, pictures, the whole works.

So i suck it up and buy a terabyte Seagate drive just to spite Western Digital for failing on me and also to try and recover the data.

So in desperation i try the freezer trick, but no go and it does the exact same thing. I going to RMA the drive eventually since it is easily under the 5 year warranty. But is there any other ways to get the drive to work before i send it off? I have heard about heating it up with a hair drier also and that may get it going. Any suggestions would be good as long as it doesn't cost me losing my warranty.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

Odd but it has worked for me before now - Turn it upside down in the drive bay and then treat it as normal, it's only worked for me once or twice.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

I buy Seagates most of the time, but Western Digital are by no means bad. The fact is, there will be bad drives from every company.

I think statistically Seagate have the lowest failure rates. Western Digital have among the lowest though. You just happen to be one of the unlucky few people who actually did get one of the (few) bad ones.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

I heard good things about putting peanut butter on the hdd platters. (dontdoit)

Sry dude, you got boned
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I heard good things about putting peanut butter on the hdd platters. (dontdoit)

Sry dude, you got boned
no, you need to use steel wool.
While it's running.

Then overclock it by increasing the voltage by 100V
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

I have 2 western digital drives both 160gb, they're the caviar series, anyway I've had my OS one for just over a year and my networked one since christmas and they've been running a treat. Sorry to hear that your drive failed you...
Nick is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

LOL! I've never had a problem with a WD, matter of fact, I never had a problem with any HD. Try turning it upside down, like saxon said. If that doesn't work, you can always take it apart, lol.

Don't do that either.
zeroinfinity2 is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 03:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

Actually I have taken apart old hard drives and put them back together. As long as you do it in a clean environment she shouldn't have any problems. Although those were old crappy 6 gig ide drives i didn't care about, but i want to keep the warranty so no experimenting to much.

I know i had a lot of info on that drive, but i just can't remember what it all was. My other 500 gig HDD i have archived more and i know what i lost, but on this drive i just can't remember.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

That's what sucks about the big dreams, you fill em up and forget what was taking up so much space. Turning it upside down works sometimes, like Saxon said. Could also try this but you might be in danger of voiding your warranty.

Mandible Games Ľ Blog Archive Ľ How I recovered my hard drive by double-boiling it
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 07:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Western Digital= FAIL

Bizzar I know but I can recall a tutorial i read on recovering data from a drive that said dropping it onto a soft surface from a height of 2 - 3 inches would work but only on some drives that where old and locked up from lack of use (I think the figure was any time frame they gave was over 8 months) but I personaly wouldnt risk it unless it was a dire emergency i,e, nothing else would work sceneario, You could try the freazer trick but be warned it can void any warinty you have (I just got off the phone with my supplier of Segate Hard drives an confermed this), there is the option of saying to the supplier or WD themselfs "Look i had a lot of data on that drive that i need back, family photos, music you downloaded from iTunes, school work etc an they might say ok we will see what we can do, as to me it sounds like your problem is of a mechanical nature and if the disk is physicaly OK and it's just a crappy part they might just be able to swap it out for you with a new one, I had to ask this recently for a drive out of a new server that held around 4 years worth of financial data, but that might be a long shot if it's from a personal computer an not from a business.

Hope that helps, Chris.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI mobo, floppy disk fail yamahammer342 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-26-2007 12:40 PM
Western Digital 500gb vs 750gb dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-26-2007 11:43 PM
Western Digital will release 1TB hrd drive very soon maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-23-2007 08:15 PM
Western Digital 750GB review maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-30-2007 05:16 PM
Western Digital HD doesn't show up GeekGirlHere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 11:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.