Western Digital 74 gb 10,000 Raptor - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2005, 02:51 AM   #21 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Put your pagefile on the fastest drive. Preferably on the drive that does not hold your games and programs.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 03:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Well let's assume I RAID 2 Raptor 74 gb hd's, is RAID a complicated process?
__________________

__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

If you put your OS on the RAID it is more complicated, then you have to download drivers beforehand onto a floppy and install them before you install Windows, then if it works i guess you continue normally... not so sure, installing an os onto a raid is tricky business, but it would be fast. If you use something else for your os then its not nearly as bad, Also if you use the RAID for your os then you have to decide if you want RAID 1 or 0 it. Raid 1 is putting the same information onto both drives for stability in case the raid fails, the downside is that you only get the space of one drive. The other is RAID 0 which is putting half the info on either drive, this way you get the space of both hd's but if the raid fails all your data is useless and if you have your os on it then youre screwed.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I wouldnt recomend the maxtors as their not reliable, wouldnt be the first maxtor to quit on me.

Seagate or WD is the way to go
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:45 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Yes even though I linked you mine are not too reliable and like I said one is not even working.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 04:26 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Well would it be worth buying two Raptor HD's and not raiding them?-**sighs**-I just wish I could get a 250 gb hd with a Raptor's speed! But I guess ya can't have your cake and eat it too, eh?
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

RAID is nice, but apparently it's tricky to set up. You have to press F6 when prompted during Windows Setup, and do a bunch more stuff. I'll do it at some point, but haven't yet.

What I'm going to do is just get one Raptor for my OS and programs. I have a 300GB 7200RPM 16MB cached Maxtor external hard drive. If the 16MB Maxtor drives are comparable to the Raptor, I am disappointed, because the Maxtor isn't all that fast, but I didn't buy it for speed, I bought it for capacity. Since I have a laptop and will soon be building a desktop PC, an external is ideal as it can be swapped between the two, or put in the bag with the laptop and taken across the country.

If you got 2 Raptors and didn't RAID them, you could have your OS and programs on one and your pagefile on the other. That would work pretty good.

A note about installing programs and games on a second hard drive (not the system dir) that's all well and good, but if anything happens to the system drive, the game might become unusable! It depends on how much the game or program depends on the Windows Registry. For example, long story but I have the game Deus Ex in a ZIP file. I don't install it, I merely unpack it. Nothing for the registry. This is totally safe to have on another hard drive. I could run it off my external if I wanted. Now let's say a program relies heavily on the Registry. You have a problem with Windows, you reinstall it (and thus rewrite the registry), and now your program starts acting up. Some programs work off INI (configuration script) files; these are better suited to work off a second hard drive, but if you reinstall Windows, you'll just have to re-create the file extensions that program may have had.

(I know, Reformatting and Reinstalling Windows is a hobby of mine...)
__________________

__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD¬ĪR Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.