Well, I think I just blew out my processor somehow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 04-03-2003, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Well, I think I just blew out my processor somehow

I smelled like a burning rubber smell..but I ignored it...and like 20 seconds later, computer shuts down. When I try to open it back, all I hear is a short "zzzz" and then it goes off. I don't even know what happened exactly. My computer has been working for 8 months, then it just suddenly breaks.

Well, everything looks fine. I'm no computer expert, but I see that everything looks connected and stuff. The power supply is hot. Is that normal? Maybe it won't power up because of the power or something? mm... nothing is burnt as I can see it. For some reason, everything else appears fine... The LEDs on the mouse/ethernet ports are on. Its just the whole computer wont "power" on.. maybe power supply?

my case is a Signa ATX42-500 that came with a 300Watt power

Old 04-03-2003, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie

Diagnosis:

Your power supply is....... dead.

I may suggest getting one of higher quality, preferably from Antec or Enermax.

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Old 04-03-2003, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Is it easy to install power supply? I have no knowledge in building computers or have ever build one. It is the big square on the top back of your computer correct? The one where it has a fan in it. You use screws to unscrew it?
Old 04-04-2003, 01:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie

And if you happen to use one of those really crappy mini-tower cases, you may need to remove all panels which cover the case in order for the PSU to be removed.

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Old 04-04-2003, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie