weirdest problem I've ever seen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Menotti

Solid State Member
hey guys I'm new to this forum and I'm wondering if you could help me with this problem I'm having.

I'm an experienced PC builder and I just recently moved my whole system from a full tower to a mid tower case for space's sake. The first odd thing that happened was that the machine would not boot if the CPU ran at anything higher than 100mhz FSB (the box would power-reset and then just sit there humming). I realized that the CPU was prob running too hot as most of the thermal paste had burned off, so I added some ACII and a nice, new HSF combo. The machine would run at the proper FSB setting now.

However, another, similar problem has been troubling me. The machine will reset randomly. Not like a soft reset, however. I actually see the indicator and internal lights flash and the whole machine quickly turns itself off and on and just sits there w/ no monitor signal. I can also produce this by tapping the case, in some cases.

I initially thought it was a short, but that does not indicate why the machine would turn on at all, nor why it would reset without and jarring. The reset is pretty random too - I can be running something very CPU intensive without anything happening, but in the same note be typing an email and the machine resets.

I thought it was my PSU failing, but I tried another PSU and got similar results.

Does anyone have ANY clue as to what is going on? This is the most stumped I've been with a PC problem in years, all from just moving to a new case.

Hardware in question:
Gigabyte GA-7NNXP mobo
Athlon XP 3200+
2x512 Corsair 3200C2PT DDR400
Antec 430watt PSU
BFG Geforce6800GT

hmm that is strange.. i get random restarts sometimes but.. i think my comp has other issues.. cant help ya but ill respond so yer thread goes to the front again.... tryin to come up with somethin.. but im sure you know more than me, hopefully these guys can help you. good luck.