Weird Video Card Issue. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default Weird Video Card Issue.

this situation honestly makes no sense to me.. maybe someone can help shed some light on this...

i had a geforce4ti 4200 about a week ago, and decided to buy a friends 9800Xt for $150. put it in and i had some intial issues with it and other things wrong with my computer irrelevant to what was happening with my video card, in which i decided to format for and start a new.

now, after installing the newest version of the catalyst drivers, i barely get 70 fps in game (cs 1.6). this is far worse then the 120 or so i got with my old g4ti. HL2 plays terribly too.

this makes no sense to me, a far superior card doing far worse of a job then my old cluncker card. i just formatted to, eliminating possible issues with old nvidia drivers.

any thoughts are appreciated.
__________________

GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

what is the rest of your system specs.Then we can see whats up.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

Antec Lanboy (1st Gen) Case w/ Antec TrueBlue 380W PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Stock Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
LG 16x DVD-Rom (Unpowered & Inactive)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer's Keyboard


good enough? hehe


EDIT : just to add on, im pretty techie when it comes to things like this, i know my **** (i wouldnt have the job i have if i wasnt), this just really stumps me. i know what some people may think its the PSU, and i hope thats not the answer.
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Did u put that heatsink and fan on or was it the person u bought it from?If u did not do it check to see that everything is in place.Also did u change your aperture to 256 from 64.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
Did u put that heatsink and fan on or was it the person u bought it from?If u did not do it check to see that everything is in place.Also did u change your aperture to 256 from 64.
no it was on it when he used it, he said he never had any serious issues with it other then in some dollar bin game he bought.

ill go check the aperture size now, it may be set at 512 even

thanks matt
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

No problem
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

ok aperture was at 128. would it make THAT much of a difference?
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

another thing, heres a pic of my AGP Settings...

http://energizer2.com/pix/bios1.jpg
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

seems to be ok i guess. good job bios
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Yah it would if I remember that means u have been useing half of your ram.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.