Weird problem with my old PlexWriter RW 4/2/20 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2003, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Question Weird problem with my old PlexWriter RW 4/2/20

Hi!

I recently got this problem with my PlexWriter -> Windows XP suddenly stopped detecting it, ie. reporting error in LSI Logic device saying "This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use".

I didn't install any of the new hardware so this got me pretty confused. I even disabled tons of devices in the Device manager list but it didn't solve the problem.

My PlexWriter was working just fine untill this problem appeared.

Now, could it be that something I installed recently (software) messed things up?

Hmmm...XP usually has all drivers when it comes to detecting SCSI devices and I did reinstall it but without any success.

Thx,

Breadfan
__________________

Breadfan is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

How old is the drive?


You a Metallica fan?
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lostman
How old is the drive?


You a Metallica fan?
1. 5 yrs old I'd say but it worked perfectly just before it happened

2. Yes, I used to big fan of theirs and do listen to them
occasionally (when I listen music at all )

Breadfan
Breadfan is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 06:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Cmon guys! Help this desperate Techie Virgin...

Breadfan
Breadfan is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 09:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Is it showing up in your BIOS? 5 years is a long life for a CDROM that you probably use everyday.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

yeah, that thing is prolly burned up, i would try it on a different computer before you trash it, lol
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 09:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

It worked perfectly fine in Windows XP although it was not detected in BIOS. I'm sure this is sime minor thing I missed spotting..I hope some could give a more helpful advice but comments of how old it is and what should I do with it..

Breadfan
__________________

Breadfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.