Weird lag problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default Weird lag problem

First I my specs
eVGA 6800GT
160gb western digital hd
3500+ 64 AMD
NEO 2 Platinium Nforce 3
I am on ADSL High Speed

Anyways its a pretty fast computer but I get lag when I play on the net. Its very strange, My brothers computer whom has the same specs but a 3800+ pings much better than me in high graphic parts. It generaly does this in all games I play. Even my friend whom set up a lan at my house and brought his computer has a better ping than me and his computer is 2 years old. It is fine if there are not a tonne of people connected to the server and there arent intense graphic work. but when there isnt my computer ping shoots straight up but it doesnt effect anyone else. Single player I can handle it all.

for exaple I am playing 26+ ppl in a server for CS or BF1942 or whatever and my ping jumps from 140 to 600 in game while my friend on the same network with a slower computer stays at a relatively consistant 70. ?? I mean whats going on here sometimes my ping will even jump to 900. below 20 ppl I can handle witha constant 70 ping
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

first, you're gonna need to find faster servers, not any random server you see

second, your ISP probably sucks or your DSL modem is outdated or something
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

Anyone know what could be wrong? I am willing to try almost anything. Oh I've reformatted an it didnt change anything. I've tweaked around with my video card and it didnt change anyting. Maybe I should get windows XP 64 bit edition?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
first, you're gonna need to find faster servers, not any random server you see

second, your ISP probably sucks or your DSL modem is outdated or something
no no that doenst make sense. I dont choose a random server. if you read my post it says my friend was playin on the same network same server as me and I lag 5 times as much as him when tehre are 20+ players in the room? his computer is 2 years old. We are on the same network so its not an ISP problem. its high speed ADSL. Not a piece of crap
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Ping problems are not related to the actual PC itself in 99% of cases

For CS try these commands

rate 9999
cl_rate 9999
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Ping problems are not related to the actual PC itself in 99% of cases

For CS try these commands

rate 9999
cl_rate 9999
I'll try that thnx. but I have a feeling it could be my network drivers glitching or some weird windows glitch. does that make sense?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

Omg thank you so much cl_rate 9999 and rate 9999 fixed it.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

great

btw, type in cl_cmdrate 0 in console if you wanna mask your ping with 5ms
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 03:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

do you know why my fps would be capped at 60? I put fps_max 99 and it still stuck at 60
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 03:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

might be your monitor

open cs:s, click on option, go to video tab, then click on advanced

make sure you have vsync disabled
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.