weird but big problem..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Angry weird but big problem.....

ok so i decide to clean out my case because theres so much dust in there...so i turn off the power supply, disconnect everything, and take it outside....i use one of those air spray things and get dust out of most places.....then i plug everything back in and turn on my computer....the fans going, cpu fans going, sounds like HDD started up, powers on....but nothing comes up on the monitor...so i wait a few minutes and still nothing happens....so i press a key on the keyboard and the computer starts up...its all normal normal blah blah and then i try to type something and nothing happens...the light on the keyboard is off ...so i unplug, plug,unplug, plug it back in....when i plug it in the lights on the keyboard flashes once....but it wont work...the mouse works and everything seems like its working but the keyboard wont work....i restart and i have to press a key on the keyboard to turn it on, meaning it has to be sending information to the computer....and at startup, the Asus motherboard says something but i can understand it because it sounds like a robot mouse trying to talk....it sometimes happens but sometimes doesnt....and i still cant fix this...argh how do i fix this? i cant use my computer without a keyboard.....ok thx

oh when i was cleaning the case, all i disconnected was one fan...but i reconnected it
__________________

xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

see if you got the keyboard and mouse ports switched Keyboard is allways close`est one to the Motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

already tried it....
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

you might have damaged one of the ports, are you using ps/2 or usb?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

hmm i unplugged and plugged it in 1 more time...and it seems to work....odd but true....but as long as it works
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.