Weiird video card question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2005, 03:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Weiird video card question...

alright, heres one of the hardest questions i ever askedu guys probly. My friend, has a p3 800mhz 512mb sdram 32mb [integreated] and for his WoW, WC3 everything runs soo much better then my comp. I on the other hand have a amd athlon 2800+ asus k8n 250g 512mb DDR 3200 and a geforce fx 5500 wi 290/400. EVERY SINGLE GAME I RUN IS CRAP T_T its crap compared to every other computer i have ever used !! [ thats fairly modern, nothing new]. Any ideas guys? i updated my drivers, windows update, sp2, no spyware, no virus, comp not overheating.. please help me =[
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 04:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Check your internet connection. Dial up is known to cause lag.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 04:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

oh no >< i got dsl.. yeah the one where i dl at 125kbs -_- 256 my *** sbc !! T_T
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Have you defragged recently? Doubt it would cause it to be that much slower.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

yeah i recentl defragged.. sigh.. iono guys =[ could it be my moniter?
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well its cause its integrated video so it will run much smoother that could be why and i take it that that is a pci card u definitly need agp 4x or 8x at least if u can upgrade everything to agp it will completely obliterate his pc and i think those p3 are pretty powerful for what they look like from the 800mhz i think they are actually pretty fast
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 07:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sheky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to sheky
Default

he can run WoW with a p3/800 wow. i mean i know those games are primarily based upon ram but still. anddd as far as your q goes, i'd say since your hw is better, you have defragged and checked for spyware, uhhh resolution? running anything in the backround? your ram isnt overheating, maybe one of the sticks is fryed, ctrl+alt+del --> performance tab, under physical memory (k) does it display around 512? if so when your computer sitting there doing nothing, how much ram is being used?
sheky is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

uhh PF usage is 225mb..
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.