webcam trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Exclamation webcam trouble

i just installed a webcam i got off ebay its a

mikomi m6217

when i try andsend it to people on msn it just shows up white and nothing on the cam

doesn anyone know why this is going this??????
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: webcam trouble

Did you install your drivers and your software?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: webcam trouble

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Did you install your drivers and your software?
yes they come with the cam

never mind it is working now!!!!
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: webcam trouble

Is it recognized in the Device Manager? Is the software and webcam compatible with Windows Live Messenger? Does it work with its own software?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 01:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: webcam trouble

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Is it recognized in the Device Manager? Is the software and webcam compatible with Windows Live Messenger? Does it work with its own software?
yes yes and yes

and i use amsn not msn live it seems to be working now :]
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: webcam trouble

Are you using the most recent version of WLM? Build 14.0.8064.206? If so that could be why. It may work with the WLM earlier builds but this is the latest build with many changes. So while it may work with the 8 series of Windows Live Messenger it may not be compatible with the WLM 2009 builds that are out right now.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: webcam trouble

Nope. He's using amsn aMSN - Opening your communication
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 04:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: webcam trouble

Yes i seen that. I am trying to resolve why it isnt working in WLM. But there are many version of WLM out there. There is WLM from build 8-8.5 and now there is also the 14 series builds. So while the software may say that it is compatible with Windows Live Messenger they could mean the 8-8.5 series not the most current series.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with VGA and RCA sepher717 Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-26-2009 04:16 PM
Having a bit of trouble maverick644 System Upgrades 1 10-02-2008 01:06 PM
Recent WoW trouble? Ethereal_Dragon PC Gaming 10 01-20-2008 02:40 PM
trouble? Norcent Off Topic Discussion 5 10-29-2007 11:11 AM
Having trouble, trouble shooting O.o sirusx69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 10-28-2007 10:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.