webcam software for security - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2009, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default webcam software for security

i live in appartments with lighted parking lot and have to park my car outside(no more garage)

so i had to come up with some budget security besides what i have in the car.

bought a logitech quickcam pro

with the logitech software i set it up to max exposure for night and its very detailed (alot better than i expected)

but the problem is in manual exposure setting when the day comes its all white

if i use auto exposure its too dark at night


is there a way to modify it a lil to make it overexpose at night and normal during the day?


or can anyone suggest alternative software that records a live video and not snapshots.
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: webcam software for security

Problem......
If some one is going to tamper around with your car, then they are going to that at night. Most webcams only work during the day as they have no night vision. And what webcams that do have night vision are rather weak.
And webcams are only going to be good for seeing things up close. About the only people that I have seen using webcams for CCTV have been
1. Service clerks as change booths. Now ever the camera (and clerk) is normally behind bullet proof glass.
2. People that want to monitor thier flat/house mates when they want to keep them out of thier personal stuff.

Both instances are only good for upclose applications.

How about pick up the following
USB Digital Video Recorder/Camera Adapter from OzSpy Security Solutions
12v 300mA Regulated power supply from OzSpy Security Solutions
20m RCA Video, BNC Audio and Power Extension Cable from OzSpy Security Solutions
Colour Outdoor IR Camera from OzSpy Security Solutions
and do the job properly as appose to messing around with a webcam.

Now if you are in the USA or have access to eBay, I am sure you can find some thing cheaper than that I offered up there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raverx3m View Post
but the problem is in manual exposure setting when the day comes its all white

if i use auto exposure its too dark at night

is there a way to modify it a lil to make it overexpose at night and normal during the day?
That is all dependant on the camera. If you get a good quality CCTV camera with IR Night Vision and position it properly, you will avoid those problems. Bar in mind, that night vision on most entry level cameras will give you at best 5 meters range. You can get some larger cameras that brighten up larger areas. However they do cost money and you will be needing a larger AC Adaptor.

The to avoid the white out during the day, have the camera facing downwards and not pointed directly at any light source. Otherwise, depending on what your lighting is like in your car park, you could look at purchaseing
High Resolution, Low Lux Colour CCD Camera from OzSpy Security Solutions
along with
12-30mm CS vari focal auto iris DC lens from OzSpy Security Solutions
Make sure that the lens has an auto iris so that it can change lighting in the footage depending on the avalable day light.
Atleast there you can mount your camera in your appartment and zoom in on the location which you want ot monitor.

Seriously, for what you are after, you are going to need some thing better than just a simple logitech webcam. If you are on a budget, then I would suggest eBay

Also, check with your local police or who ever in regards to what need to be done in be CCTV monitoring your area.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

ok you probably missed the part about lighted parking lot.

heres the auto exposure at night


heres with maximum exposure


so its enough light

like i said my budged was alot lower than a full security camera setup

the webcam cost me 79 dollars...

its also autofocus and just enough focal length to reach the end of the parking lot.
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: webcam software for security

I would be interested in an easy to use Mac application for security camera recording, either webcam or RCA line in recording.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 06:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: webcam software for security

Quote:
Originally Posted by raverx3m View Post
ok you probably missed the part about lighted parking lot.

heres the auto exposure at night


heres with maximum exposure


so its enough light
No. I was just not aware of how much lighting that you did have in your parking lot.

The only problem that I see if that your you have Venetian Blinds and your webcam is picking up the reflection. The only way to avoid that is to try to put the webcam up as close as possible to the window or put the camera outside.

You are also picking up your appartment room too.

Is your car the one up close or the hotted up ricemobile in the distance?
If it's the ricemobile, then I don't fancy your chances on getting a face until you have a good telefocal lens.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: webcam software for security

well im not worried about the face i just need color of the skin and clothes and how tall the guy is lol i kinda have an idea of who it might be if something happends.
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: webcam software for security

You wont get the height of a person via a camera angle like that. You could get a general idea but you would never get exact. Its not like you have a scale to show what 1 Foot, 2 Foot and so on would be per your camera view. At best you could get a estimate. Since you can get the height of your car and judge it from there.

Again the same thing can be said of clothes. Who is to say if it is black or dark red or dark brown? There is decent light but not enough to be able to pick out every color. It wouldnt be that hard to make a mistake on what color clothes were worn.

What you have done is a good start, but it is in no way going to be 110% accurate if something were to happen and you had to present the video as evidence. You will need something better. A webcam is not going to offer you enough detail over the distance you need to cover.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: webcam software for security

Quote:
Originally Posted by raverx3m View Post
well im not worried about the face i just need color of the skin and clothes and how tall the guy is lol i kinda have an idea of who it might be if something happends.
And you are going to do this why?

When it comes down to CCTV footage, police need some thing solid to work from. And even with that being said, unless some thing serious happens (some one getting hurt or killed), they are more than likely to dust the area for fingures prints and run those details into thier database.

My problem with CCTV cameras is that they are more of a deterrent to get people to think twice before stealing some thing.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 02:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: webcam software for security

so anyway, anyone can help me with my original question?
is there a way to adjust the auto exposure settings maybe?
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software piracy costs $50 billion a year, according to BSA Harper Polls 6 05-19-2009 10:42 PM
useless features and software bundles: my rant White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 28 01-13-2009 03:59 PM
Video Upconverting software EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 09-25-2008 11:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.