WD1200 Drive Failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default WD1200 Drive Failure

I helped a friend of mine install a new western digital 120gb hard drive. This was on tuesday night. The instal was successful, drive letter assigned, formatted and all that. He transfered his data over from his main drive. It was one folder that contained 75gb of data. Then wednesday night the new drive began to do the heavy clicking when he was just on ie and aim. Windows cant recognize the drive. It cant boot up with the drive installed. I placed it in a usb enclosure, it clicks it can be seen in device manager, but not windows explorer.

It seems like the drive is toast. Is there any way to recover the data?

Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You mean to tell me in 2 days a Western Digital HD **** the bed?????? WTF. OK can you access the drives and its contents from DOS? If you can what I would do is copy all of the files to a secondary HD. But if it is not accesible from DOS then I would ask myself how much is the data worth on the drive???? If it is worth more than having it taken to a Data Recovery/extraction bussiness, then I suggest you do just that. But it is very expensive, most places dont have a "list" they make you call a rep. for an estimate.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

How would I go about accessing the data in dos. Would this be done in window's comand prompt or out side of windows.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You need a boot disk that will boot you to DOS either from a CD or a floppy. You can try to use the command prompt through the windows shell but I highly doubt that it will work. To make a boot disk go to this page to download a DOS boot disk maker,

http://www.putergeek.com/downloads/popup_dos.htm

Good Luck!!!!!!!
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What commands would I use to save a file to a different hard drive?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

The Western Digital should be C: and the "other" drive should be D: with your any optical drives being e: and or f:

I really dont know what type of files and or folders you want to copy so I cant give you a example of the command but what you need to know is at this site.

http://www.easydos.com/copy.html
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Thanks for the help. I'll see what I can do.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default recovery

Get Data Back is the best recovery software I have tried. It will recover the data even if the disk has been formatted. Just hook the problem disk up as secondary, and run the program from the primary.

If you want to do it from a DOS boot disk, with the problem disk as secondary, go to d: then type xcopy *.* c:/s<enter> That will copy all files, and folders to c drive. If you don't use the s switch it won't copy anything in folders.
__________________

moosluvr2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.