Watch TV on the computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 06:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default Watch TV on the computer

What do I need to buy.. hardware and software... so I can watch TV on my computer? I'm also looking to plug in ps2 as well on the side.. sorry for what seems like noob question but did search and found nothing.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 06:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a video card that has VIVO
or a TV tuner card
with the appropriate software too, which should come with the cards
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

What about hooking up your game systems to the card and play that on the comp. Is it possible? What are good vivo cards... can anyonen suggest any?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default

i have a ATi all-in-wonder 9200, comes with practically everything that a TV can do. i hooked up my ps2 and xbox to em, works just like a TV... and can also watch TV... you can plug in your dsc or dvc, practically anything. it's only under a 100 bucks, nowadays you can probably get something way better, i got this card about 1-2 yrs back. good luck
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I already have a graphics card in my well..... graphics card slot...... trying to find if there something I can pick up for a pci slot... the TV tuner cards only come with the cable in.... does not come with VIVO slots. The ones that do are for AGP slots and cost over 200 dollars... which is not what I need.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.