warning kingston hyperx memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2004, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 54
Default warning kingston hyperx memory

I recently was consideding of buying a Asus A7n8x Deluxe and 2x Kingston HyperX Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-2700. While checking around i found this email from kingston.

"I'm sorry to inform you that your motherboard isn't able to support the HyperX modules. Especially its dual channel function mode. To take advantage of the dual channel function, you should use our KVR line.

Best regards,
XXXXXXXXXX
Technical Support
Kingston Technology Company"

Just thought id let you know.

Droot
__________________

__________________
mmmmmm Easton Classic
Droot is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to MelloYellow
Default

Man, seems like kingston has gone downhill the past 5 years.
__________________

MelloYellow is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

What?!?!?!?! Only the mobo dictates dual channel capacity

Greato Tech support
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Wasn't there a thread recently that discussed different RAM modules that would work with your Asus MoBo? I'm pretty sure that a few people reported that they are indeed using the Kingston Hyper RAM with success.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Use corsair then
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 08:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Droot, Any reason why you are buying PC-2700 and not PC3200?
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 54
Default

no reason, i really have no damn clue what too look for to make my comp jus looking around and seeing what i can afford.
__________________
mmmmmm Easton Classic
Droot is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Droot, you may want to try posting what you are thinking about buying or what you are going to be using your computer for and ask for suggestions. I am going to assume that you are looking at buying an AMD XP CPU based on the motherboard that you listed.

When looking for parts, make sure that you check out www.newegg.com. You will find it hard to beat their prices and service.

Keep the questions coming; there will always be someone that is willing to help.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 54
Default

already did that and was doing more research on the items before i spent and possible wasted money

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=23413

And newegg is where i plan on getting it from

thx
Droot
__________________
mmmmmm Easton Classic
Droot is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Cool, What CPU are you planning on? Based on what you are planning on using the computer for, will give ideas as to what video card, RAM, HD, etc.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.