Wanting to Upgrade but a Little Unsure

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrattyBrandy

Solid State Member
Even though I have cable modem which makes my internet connection better, my computer seems as though it is quite often taking a nap. I want to speed it up a bit and give it a mini-makeover. I'm kinda familiar with computer and I like to think I'm rather smart. What exactly do I need to upgrade and it is it something fairly simple that I can install myself. I studied computer science for two years in college and have sorta tinkered around on computers, but nothing major. My computer is Dell Desktop. It has 19.0 GB storage and I believe 256 MB of DDR-SDRAM. It is an Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.40 GHz. What would I need? And is it fairly cheap right now? And do you think this is something I can install myself with a little instruction?? Please help!

First step would be to add at least another 256MB of RAM...what kinda apps do u run?

Um another stick of 256mb DDR would help. Also your HDD might be quite full. You might want to defrag it and do a clean-up and delete what you don't want nor need.