want to upgrade computer, know next to nothing, please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2004, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default want to upgrade computer, know next to nothing, please help

I have a one year old Compaq computer that I would like to upgrade. It has microsoft windows XP on it. It has a Pentium 4 with 2.4 GHz, 1GB of ram, and a GeForce 4 Ti4200 with AGP8X. I am fine with harddrive space. I use my computer mostly for playing 3d games, so those are the areas I think I should be upgrading right?

I have two problems with my computer- its performace at times, but most of all: The spy/adware! I have tried spykiller, spybot, Jimmy Surf, and Adaware, and set my browser security to high, but nothing seems to keep the pop ups and new spyware away! Somone please help.

Thanks for the Advice, Armando
__________________

Armando is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Your ram seems fine, i would upgrade to a 2.8ghz or above, and if you want a better Graphics card go for a gforce fx 5950 - 6800 or an ati radeon 9800pro or above.
do a virus scan on your pc to see if it's clean.
__________________

__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183
Default

uhhh scan for virusus if you dont have norton get AVG its the best free antivirus out there in my opinion I use it; www.grisoft.com (the FREE version). and get GOOGLE pop up stopper I use that too and i never have probs with popups

as for your hardware goes what kind of ram do you have?? cause i would upgrade to a 2.8C pentium 4 adn you need at least pc3200 for that processor and your video card?!?!? dam man. if you dont want to spend $500 on a graphics card get the geforce FX 5700 ultra!! that thing will play any new game out with ease. and its only 170 buck
__________________
intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
soundblaster
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default

what do you mean about my graphics card? "dam man" sorry I dont get what ur trying to say
Armando is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Your Graphics card is GeForce 4 Ti4200.
If U play a lot of games with heavy graphics, then upgrade it.
Your processor and all are fine and can take U further.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 03:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

dont bother with the processor. its plenty sufficient. upgrade the vid card (the latest, in answer to what about the card, is a $500 vid card x800, very fast but I'm gonna wait for price drops). If you want u can also look at the speed that the mem runs, if the mbd supports it I hope you have 2 512 to take advantage of the dual channel DDR.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i suggest u use Mozilla/firefox , instead of Internet Explorer. LINK ,its better/safer/faster. Mozilla does everything web related (i think, i didnt get it) Firefox is a stripped version of Mozilla for quick web browsing (i do have, and love it)
---------------------------------------------------
mozila/firefox automatically block popups, and is less vaulnerable to online attacks, cause it stores its information somewere else and ina different format witch most programs are not written to take advantage of.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.