Want one partition only? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 07:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Partition Magic is very user friendly, especially version 8
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Partition Magic is very user friendly, especially version 8
Very true. I have it, and it works wonders. Although, if you do decide to merge your partitions, it may take a little depending on your HD's cache size. The higher the cache, the faster it goes.
__________________

__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks you guys.
dogbreath is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

The main problem- my p.c. not recognising an ext. hdd has developed further. I received a suggestion on another forum regarding firing it up whilst in safe mode. The following copied text gives the result. Do any of you guys recognise the description of events. Now that the drive has instantly been recognised on last boot up, have you any suggestions as to how I might keep it there. My latest post on the forum was:- "Bris. Booted into safe mode. Powered up ext. hhd.. Immediately visible in Device Manager (under Disks and USB Mass Storage Device). Not visible in Disk Management and My Computer. Disks visible everywhere were Disk 0 (partitioned C: and E: (logical drive)) and Disk 1 (H: which is the card reader in an HP all-in-one printer etc. etc.). Went into Event Viewer>System Log- lot's of errors and warnings which were disk related (numbered 7, 11, 51). Rebooted to a standard start to obtain the internet connection to check out the error codes, and the ext. hdd, which had been left powered up between the safe mode session and reboot, was seen everywhere and instantly. The read/write light is off which is how it used to be on first install when it worked fine. It reads- Disk Management:- Disk 1 Basic 149.05GB NTFS On-line "LACIE" (G Healthy, Device Manager:- WDC WD1600JB-00GVA0 USB Device (inc. an entry under USB Mass Storage Device) and in My Computer:- LACIE (G. It would be very pleasing if this occurred on every reboot! From what I've described above, has anyone any ideas as to what the problem is/was. Oh, and thanks again Bris for resurrecting the thread." Any help most welcome.
dogbreath is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Please forgive the smilies, they've appeared due to coincidentally typed characters- the other forum doesn't support smilies.
dogbreath is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 05:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

have you tried the big drive enabler
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 05:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

No. I've not. Thanks EricB for the suggestion. I'll look at that. I did think that this application was only for Maxtor hdds though. Mine is a Western Digital Caviar SE 120GB. Am I correct in that assumption?
dogbreath is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
putting the virtual memory on another partion helps too, as it can be by itself and not be bothered when you are doing other things on the C drive
why would that help at all if not do anything? cause.. windows alocates whatever amount of paging files u specify to an unmovable designated area, so it doesnt even get fragmented, much less interfear with anything.

to check and see if for some reason large drives arnt enabled in windows do whats said here...

http://www.48bitlba.com/enablebiglba.htm

EDIT: i just noticed the drive in questino is only 120gb's, so that wouldnt apply.

if it works all the time in safe mode though, u may wont to hit ctl+alt+del, and see what proccess's it left out, then when u restart in normal mode, u can compair the proccess list and narrow it down to a application that may be causing the conflict.

definitions of proccess list....

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for that jolancer, I'll check it out.
dogbreath is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dogbreath
No. I've not. Thanks EricB for the suggestion. I'll look at that. I did think that this application was only for Maxtor hdds though. Mine is a Western Digital Caviar SE 120GB. Am I correct in that assumption?
didn't you say you had a 160 gig?
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.