Want help on new motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default Want help on new motherboard

hey all,

A friend of mine wants to overhall his computer. He is looking into getting a new motherboard, but doen't want to spend more than £70 on it. What would everyone recommend he should get?

He would prefer if he can have a board which can support both 32 bit and 64 bit AMD processors, i know ASUS are good for those, but are there any others?

The more features the Board has the better, such as Dual-channel, DDR400 etc. He already has a network and sound card, so intergrated hardware is not importent. He is not interested in Overclocking, so that's not importent.

Any questions i'm happy to answer, i got a good idea of what he's looking for.

-fangs
__________________

fangs2000 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

A8N-E
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

DFI-Lanparty
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default

ok, i've looked at the A8N-E and it seems pretty good. Just want to double check. It can use Athlon XP (socket A) chips AND AMD 64 chips (which i assume is 754).

I don't want to mess this up, my friend won't be too happy if i reccommend a board which does not do what he wants it to do...

thanks for the replys
fangs2000 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
DFI-Lanparty
Why would you recommend a DFI-Lanparty to someone who has no interest in overclocking?

Which CPU will he be using?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it really depends on the CPU. That's the vital information you need before shopping for the mobo. From there, ask away.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well you need to decide which socket

And HAVOC2k5, even if someone is not intrested in overclocking, the DFI lanparty is still by far the best AMD board's made.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default

he's looking to shove a high end socket a chip in there, a 3200. here's a link to what he's buying:

3200 AMD (socket A)

Since that's the maximum for that range. ATM prices for that kinda speed on 64bit processors are much higher. It would be better for him to wait for the prices to come down. He just wants the option to go faster if he ever got more money.
fangs2000 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Well you need to decide which socket

And HAVOC2k5, even if someone is not intrested in overclocking, the DFI lanparty is still by far the best AMD board's made.
The DFI Lanparty is an overclockers board CHRIS. You know that. I know that. He's specifically said, "he's not interested in overclocking and probably never will." "Those baords also come with a price tag to match.

LOL - This is the same as me "ALWAYS" recommending PCP&C. And everyone always says, "They're too expensive and he doesn't need that." He could buy something cheaper and it will be just as good.

So i stand corrected in this thread for my objection to the DFI lanparty recommendation. But, that's ok, because it supports my PCP&C recommendations for the rest of my time here at TF.

We should all start labeling our recommendations as:
Either say, "Will do just fine" or say, "The best you can buy"
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their isnt much cheaper than the DFI board's.

125$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136159

114$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

89$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

That's the DFI and comparable board's, for the price defiantly do not get an Asus, expisally with their reliability issues.

The MSI does come in at a good price, but I am a firm beliver in getting very good motherboard's
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.