Vsync on or off for better performance??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 05:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Question Vsync on or off for better performance???

Vsync on or off for better performance?

Tnx
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 05:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Off, definately. However, if you have refresh issues, you may want to have Vsync on. You will have lower framerates, but you won't have the annoying refresh lines. I doubt it would matter on your computer anyway, Major...lol. One question, How do you run Windows XP on that machine?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 06:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

how do I run XP....I heard that question a thousend times
It just...runs almost acceptable for normal apps like IE, Word...etc etc......BTW...the reason why I asked for Vsync: I installed the newest drivers for my graphics card, and now I can adjust all this stuff...normally I don't install the drivers because I'm not gaming, although I know up-to-date drivers are always better.....And..an 2 hours ago I OC'ed my mem-clock and GPU-clock both with 20MHz..lol both from 110 > 130....I don't notice any difference while benchmarking, but it wanted to try it (first time)
My main bottleneck is my CPU ofcourse...

TM
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Yep - vSync limits your frames so that they are all synchronized. This removes image tearing. You will see a lot of this in Doom3.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Yeah, it is definitely apparent in Doom 3. I noticed a huge difference in how smooth the game looked with vsync because it elimintated all of the horizontal tearing. Not that this matters much to major, but yes it will hurt your performance a little but will make things a lot nicer looking and smooth.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.