Vsync - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Vsync

hi guys. me again, tryin to do the best i can wid my average comp. Well i was playing counter-strike 1.6 and i relized that i was stuck at 60fps. Couldnt go any higher or lower. I read an article bout VSYNC and it has to do with refresh rates. Well i wanted to disable vsynce buht it turns out that i cant find it. Im so stupid. Can anyone guide me to were i can find this "vsync" so i can disable it?. I have a BFG Geforce 5500 OC. 71.84 Forceware driver.
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

video device settings, and sometimes its fixed relative to the monitor
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

whut? i go to video device settings?
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

There might be an option in the game to disable it. So make sure it's disabled there. You also have to disable it on your video card. Open up your video card settings or control panel or whatever the heck you use and find the vsync option and disable it, that's all.

You could also try installing the new beta drivers.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

lol okay lets break it down to step by step.

Step 1 - Desktop > right clicked properties



Step 2 - This is under advanced. Let me know if im in the right tab



Step 3 - If so .. Here is the section of that tab. I checked under all the sections on the left side and could not find a "vsync" located anywere.
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

try under adapter or monitor, probably under adapter, be advised if it oversteps the vsynch limits of your monitor you will have to reboot in safe mode to fix more than likely
horndude is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

a lot of games have vsync under the advanced graphical options
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

i see.. oh well i cant find it. Buht i have another question. I just dled the beta driver for nvidia and now it seems kinda wack.. like the fact that get lower fps in some areas in counter-strike. Is there anything else i should dl to improve my video card? drivers? software?. thanks u guys for u anser on VSYNC
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 10:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Have the latest release drivers installed. Betas are prerelease (ie incomplete). You should turn Vsync off with your card, it lowers preformance darmatically (at least on my machine- dropped about 7k in aquamark with it on). If you are willing to sacrifice some quality, try turing down some of the lighting effects in CS, and possibly turn down (but not off, or you wont be able play very well) particles such as gernade blasts, muzzle somke, projectiles, ect.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

yeah i want to turn off vsync so bad buht i have no idea where. u guys say under video properties, adapter, moniter propteries. advance display properties... everywere lol buht i cant find anything close to VSYNC
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.