Video problems, Gforce 4 Ti4200 AGP 8x - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default Video problems, Gforce 4 Ti4200 AGP 8x

I just did a factory restore on my pc. I've reinstalled everything, including the most up-to-date drivers.

I play DAoC and this is where I"m getting the graphics corruption.

Before I restored, and on my other two computers, the graphics are sharp and crisp. (lesser video cards on those).

But on my desktop with the Gf4 the graphics appear chalky. The futher away they are in game the more chalky they look. Almost like an oil painting if you know what I mean.

Do you know what could be causing this? I've tried fooling around with the anti-aliasing/etc features and it doesn't affect it.
__________________

Crios is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Yadgadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83
Default

I had some problems with my graphics card after I updated the drivers as well, wherein on Everquest many of the textures on character models wern't being displayed at all, leaving blank pure white spots in their place. I have a Geforce 2 MX, and the problem was that the new improvements on the drivers were making my card not display correctly, so I reverted back to the old drivers I had, and everything went back to normal.

So maybe just going back to older drivers will fix it.
__________________

__________________
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
52x TDK CD-RW
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Hey thanks man I figured out what is was. I forgot to uninstall the old drivers before installing the new ones. I was surfing the web and then it hit me out of no where how I had that problem before and what caused. Brain fart I guess you could call it.

Anyways my wifes desktop has a gf2 mx and it had a similiar problem before and that was also the same problem. You might could try that on yours. (unless of course you have developed the good habit of uinstalling the old drivers before installing new ones.)
Crios is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Yadgadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Glad you got your problem fixed

I think I did uninstall first, but newer drivers I don't beleive will give a gf2 MX much of a performance increase, if any at all. I plan on getting a Geforce 6600GT as soon as the price drops a bit anyway, and for what I use my current card for now, it works just fine so I'm not going to mess with my drivers for now at least.
__________________
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
52x TDK CD-RW
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.