Video Problems!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2004, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Exclamation Video Problems!!!

My computer that was in stand-by would not wake. This sometimes happens, so I rebooted the computer. My monitor does not 'turn on' (it has the power, but it is still in standby) and the computer doesn't make the ussual noises. Nothing appears on the screen, except for the Check Video Cable box. I figure it isn't getting a signal. I hook up a different monitor to the same computer, which doesn't work. I test the original monitor on a different computer, which works. I know the problem isn't the monitor, connections or cable, it has to be the tower. I have a GeForce 4 64 mb graphics card with a tv/out made by asus, a p4 1.6 gh, an asus motherboard, and windows xp professional. I cannot figure out what the problem is, if it is hardware, or if it is a software or BIOS problem. Can someone plz advise and help, I need a solution desperately. I think BIOS problems cannot be fixed, so i hope i wont need to get a new motherboard
Help...
__________________

Chimara is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

It may help you to ‘reset’ the BIOS. If you can get as far as the BIOS screen, make a note of the variable settings if you don’t know them, then turn the computer off, and switch off the power supply. Open the case and flip out the ‘large watch battery’ on the Motherboard for about a minute then re-insert.

Turn everything back on and go into the BIOS screen, make the necessary adjustments, save and reboot. You should be sorted.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks, but nothing at all comes on my screen. The screen isn't even getting a signal...
Chimara is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

In that case, have you tried re-seating the graphics card, the constant hot/cold cycles can cause them to lose contact with the AGP/PCI slot.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, I have taken out the graphics card, cleaned of the dust a little, and reinserted it if that is what you mean.
Chimara is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

Lol, yep, that’s what I meant. Does your motherboard have an ‘on-board’ graphics array?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Now uve lost me. I do think it has a 9 pin male on the back that is part of the motherboard, which has a monitor picture and IOIOI next to it, but i cannot hook that up to my monitor because my monitor cable is also 9 pin male, so it needs a 9 pin female. The graphics card does have a 9 pin female.
Thanks for your ongoing help and quick replies.
Chimara is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 06:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

The IOIOI is a serial port, Video out is 15 pin and often blue. I am starting to run out of ideas, by this stage I would be thinking about trying a BIOS reset. It is worth waiting a bit to see if someone else can leap in and save the day with a bright (no pun intended) idea though.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 06:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Sounds to me like you've got Hibernation enabled in XP..........try turning it off. Some mobo's BIOS's do not work well with this feature (they hibernate OK but don't wake!).
roho is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

True with the hibernation problem.Have you tried to take out the video card and use another one to test.Mabey from that other computer you were talking about.Just be carefull of static electricty whenever you work on the inside of the computer.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.