video drivers not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2004, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default video drivers not working

system specs:
amd k6-333mhz
128mb ram
3.2 gig hdd
ATI Rage 128 Video
windows 98 se

here is the situation that i need some help with.. I got this system to fix for someone. and with the major problems they were having I decided to format the drive and reinstall windows 98 se. I can get everything running fine up to that point. with out any additional drivers except the nic. When i go to install the rage 128 video drivers that is where the problem begins. right after install. I go to reboot and then it hangs just about when it is going to bring up the network logon box.
I have mouse control and that is about it. It just sits there with the hour glass.. and nothing. However I can boot it into safe mode. I have tried several different drivers... so now i am here. at a loss....

zerobug is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30

I would try to reinstall the pci drivers and then reinstall the video card and try different set of drivers

mre30 is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887

u sure u using the latest drivers?? if yes....
take out all the cards. one by one put them in and install them.
xotix is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

as of now i do have all the cards out except the video card which i need.... and still cant get that working.
zerobug is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

Ok new situation. I can now get the video to work when I. boot into safemode, and change the refresh rate to "adapter default" then reboot. and it starts into windows. now, when i change the resolution to 800 X 600. same situation as before....
zerobug is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 05:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Try updating the Chipsets 1st then install the VC drivers

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.