Video Codec - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Video Codec

I think I installed a malicious video codec. Is there a way to see which codec WMP uses or to see which one it uses for a particular video?

I also used a programs called Sherlock and it said that "Lead MCMW Decoder 2.0" and "Lead MCMW Encoder 2.0" was not uninstalled properly.

The problem I'm having is that my AVI files won't play in WMP and it plays in Showtime.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Video Codec

No biters?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 11:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Video Codec

Here's what you should try to do.

First thing to try is to Uninstall thru Add/Remove programs any video Codecs you have. This includes Divx, or anything codec you resently installed. If you can't find the ones you recently installed, continue ->

1. Right click on My Computer -> Click Properties

2. Click Hardware Tab -> Click Device Manager Button

3. Expand the 'Sound, video and game controller' drop down

4. Double click 'Video Codecs'

5. Click Properties Tab

6. Remove or Disable the Video Codec (I'm not sure which ones, but it you see the codec you recently installed, I would disable it first, then possible remove it later).

Lastly, Download and install the Combined Community Codec Pack Combined Community Codec Pack

Hope this helps.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Video Codec

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
Here's what you should try to do.

First thing to try is to Uninstall thru Add/Remove programs any video Codecs you have. This includes Divx, or anything codec you resently installed. If you can't find the ones you recently installed, continue ->

1. Right click on My Computer -> Click Properties

2. Click Hardware Tab -> Click Device Manager Button

3. Expand the 'Sound, video and game controller' drop down

4. Double click 'Video Codecs'

5. Click Properties Tab

6. Remove or Disable the Video Codec (I'm not sure which ones, but it you see the codec you recently installed, I would disable it first, then possible remove it later).

Lastly, Download and install the Combined Community Codec Pack Combined Community Codec Pack

Hope this helps.
nice tip there but

Why would he need CCCP? he isnt trying to play MP4, or H.264 encoded files, he just wants AVI.

I suggest remove all codecs and DL Kopepi's Xvid Codec, for AVI/XviD/DivX
AC3 Filter for DD audio
and CoreAVC if you are watching HD content in containers such as .MKV

and no one please suggest KLiteMegaCodecPack
also CCCP is good but it is a resource hog and consumes way more resources than those three codecs i said,plus the codecs i said will let you watch videos without straining ur cpu
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Video Codec

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
nice tip there but

Why would he need CCCP? he isnt trying to play MP4, or H.264 encoded files, he just wants AVI.

I suggest remove all codecs and DL Kopepi's Xvid Codec, for AVI/XviD/DivX
AC3 Filter for DD audio
and CoreAVC if you are watching HD content in containers such as .MKV

and no one please suggest KLiteMegaCodecPack
also CCCP is good but it is a resource hog and consumes way more resources than those three codecs i said,plus the codecs i said will let you watch videos without straining ur cpu
I just suggested the CCCP codecs cause they are what I have had the most success and stress free use with (they play anything I have thrown at it so far) so it would be rare that after installing them you would not be able to play a certain type of media.
I really haven't felt any strain on my PC when using them, but thats not to say it doesn't put more strain than other more specific codecs for certain applications you suggested.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Video Codec

InstalledCodec - Disable/enable codec drivers and DirectShow filters installed on your system

GSpot Codec Information Appliance

I haven't used any of the above, just did a search for you to see what I could find.

ms live search is your friend!
Live Search: see which video codec on your system


edit:
Free-Codecs.com :: Download CodecInstaller 2.8.0 : CodecInstaller detects the Audio and Video codecs installed on your system
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Video Codec

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
I just suggested the CCCP codecs cause they are what I have had the most success and stress free use with (they play anything I have thrown at it so far) so it would be rare that after installing them you would not be able to play a certain type of media.
I really haven't felt any strain on my PC when using them, but thats not to say it doesn't put more strain than other more specific codecs for certain applications you suggested.
Wel CCCP is actually a collection of codecs Designed specifically for playback of Matroska files and other containers for HD Video and Audio hence the reason AC3 filter,Matroska Splitter,FFD Show,VOB Sub and MP4 support is included, im not saying it is a bad thing, but it does open all of the ocdecs of CCCP when you open a video even if you dont need the other unnecesary codecs running which is kinda bad fro older systems.

For example running a 720P HDDuD rip of Troy using CCCP on a P4 the movie skips at times and desyncs then has to adjust every so often, since all the codecs are running expecially FFDSHOW

using AC3 Filter+Core AVC, on the same setup it allows for playback of 720P and 1080P video without skipping.

But he is trying to play .AVI's so his problem may be the codec he installed which might have messed up XviD.AX, which is located in C:/Windows/System32

but that codec he installed may be what is messing up his system, sso he should uninstall all codecs and reinstall ONLY WHAT IS NECCESSARY
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Video Codec

Thanks for the responses. I've looked at the video codecs under Device Manager but I didn't find anything out of place. Nero Showtime and WMP won't play ANY files now, but Divx player will.

I guess I will just have to do a reload on my XP.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 11:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Video Codec

Go to add/remove programs, don't use DivX player, use Koepis or Nics XviD codec, DivX bundle sux.

All you need is Core AVC,XviD, and AC3 Filter
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
video cards lemonfrost System Upgrades 9 11-09-2007 02:49 AM
Need help in choosing Video Cards Under $130 r3n3r4d3 System Upgrades 31 10-22-2007 03:54 PM
Codec and DivX Probs.... Jougukny Off Topic Discussion 0 10-15-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.