Video Cards For Dual Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2006, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Default Video Cards For Dual Monitors

I am not the least bit knowledgeable on this subject. Are video cards the same as graphics cards?

I want to hook up two (or three) monitors to one computer. Not for games....just stock market stuff.
1. What will best serve my purposes at some reasonable cost? 2. What will be better for operation....PCI or AGP.
3. What is the difference between a regular PCI card and PCI Express and will the latter work in a regular PCI slot?
4. If I want 2 or three monitors, do I need a card with two cable connectors?
5. My computer already has a monitor connector, can that be used for a third monitor with two more monitors on a card?
6. Will the memory be important for my purposes or will I be well served just using a 16, 32 or 64MB card?

Sure would appreciate some explanations. Many thanks.


wallaceno1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

1. depends on whether you are building a new pc or installing the card in a pc you already have
2.pci-e is completely different, it has more pins and a different length slot. it also runs at triple the frequency of standard pci.
3.for 2 monitors the most straight forward thing is to use a card with 2 outputs. for 3 monitors i think you will need an SLI/Crossfire setup (dual cards).
4. possibly
5. if you are not gaming you won't need much memory. i would get a low range 128mb card like an FX5700

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 04:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

For 3, you can have a card in the AGP slot and then add as many PCI cards as you want, but they have to be from Nvidia or ATI (or other.) You can't mix them as you can't have two sets of drivers. A PCI 5200 and a AGP 5200 will be fine for setting upto 4 monitors.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22

Thank you very much folks! Let's see if I can do it without screwing it up.
wallaceno1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22

Must start looking for a video card now.
wallaceno1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.