video card upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 02:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 111
Default video card upgrade

I want to get a better video card .
Right now i have a ATI Radeon 9250 and it's pretty slow.
I also have 256mb PC3200 DDR400 ram.

The card i have now can play cs:source and half life 2 at 1024x768 at the lowest quality. It's fps is about 25-70 depending on what im looking at and what map it is.
I've thought about overclocking but i don't understand it too well and i know it can damage your system.

I want a new card that can handle it on meduim quality, and can play a couple new games that are coming out.

Is there a better video card out there thats possibly less than $150?? (im poor)


PS:Adding another 256mb PC3200 DDR400 ram stick will also improve fps and performance right? If it does, how much fps u think will go up?
__________________

r1c3_808 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 03:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You will see a slight performance increase w/ the ram. A little more of an increase if it runs dual channel. You need a better vid card. This card is for $153 **a perfect balance of performance and value**
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-335&depa=1

OC'ing is not recommended without water cooling. You really wont see a difference so just dont OC anything. Unless you have a really high end water cooling system or Vapochill *liquid nitrogen works well too!*
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 03:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

If you are going to upgrade your graphics card, i recommend you get a pretty good one (may not be the newest but atleast something like a GeForce Fx 5900) because you'll find that not too long in the future, you'll have to upgrade another one to play new games in good settings.

Spending some more money can probably last you around 2 years...
LeXon is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 03:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i suggest you buy:
256mb DDR 400 $30.15:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...156-002&depa=1

And if you only have $150, get this:

SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON 9600PRO $110
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-456&depa=1

If you want a graphics card that will last you longer, i suggest you buy the ram, and save up a extra $70 and get:

ROSEWILL ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...164-025&depa=1

But for long term gaming i suggest a 6600GT

Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Ok Thanks alot..
oh ya does the processor really matter?? right now i have a AMD Athlon 64 2800+ .That's good enough right?
r1c3_808 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, that should be fine, its not worth upgrading for a while with that cpu
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Your CPU doesn't really handle graphics as much as they used to, even if they did, the 64 will be more than enough to handle it.

As has already been suggested, you could really do with getting an extra 256 Mb of system RAM and either an ATI 9800 Pro or 9600 Pro is money is tight.
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 07:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your processor is fine as well as that 9600Pro is a good choice. 256 more meg of ram would be a substancial difference as well.

But if you want to go the 9800Pro route, the 6600GT is much better for it, and it drops down to the same price
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 07:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Get the RAM and the 9800Pro that wayne suggested. Or, if you want some DC, either look for the exact same kind of RAM you surrently have or get this: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-413&depa=1 . I have had no problems with it (that's what I have in my comp) and it is DC. And the vid card; just go with that 9800Pro and you should be fine.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.