!!!!!Video Card Unknown!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Question !!!!!Video Card Unknown!!!!

Ok my dad just gave me a supposivly "Nvidia Gefore 4 Mx 440 64mb Agp" made by asus. I didnt know it was made by asus until he took it out which up to that point I thought was made by nvidia. I know its a Mx 440 because the model number "almost" matches the one of asus website. I wanted to know what exactly it is to see how good it is and whether it is as good or better than my nvidia Geforce Fx 5200 256mb pci or my Radeon 9250 256mb pci. These were old cards that i bought when my pc didnt have agp. All I need to know is what exactly my video card is and if its better than the other two. The model # is V8170DDR/D/64M. Please Help!!!!
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

"AsusTek Computer has steadily built a solid and deserved reputation as a motherboard supplier, but it's also a large maker of nVidia-based graphics cards. Its Asus AGP-V8170DDR, based on the nVidia GeForce4 MX 440 chip set, is a good fit for business users. But while the card has a decent software bundle, it doesn't really pass muster for today's 3-D gaming."

it's a mx440 like you said

do a benchmark (3dmark 03 and 05) www.guru3d.com <--can be found there and all three cards

i'm pretty sure it's not as good sa your PCI cards..but that's just a guess
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

ok thanx man ill check
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

the only reason ill say its better is casue on his system a p4 2.4 ghz 512mb ram and that card and hes getting like any where from 60 to 120fps about that in a hl2 deathmatch game with 4 people total and im only getting right now like 40 average maybe 60 when nothing going on with the radeon 9250256mb pci 1gb ram 2.8ghz cpu i mean wtf?!??
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, pci has a very small bandwidth

do a benchmark and see what you get
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

ok i might get introuble though cause my dad hates it when im on his pc. He tells me if it dies hes gonna kill me cause its my fault. But where could i get bench marks for the 9250 and 5200
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
the only reason ill say its better is casue on his system a p4 2.4 ghz 512mb ram and that card and hes getting like any where from 60 to 120fps about that in a hl2 deathmatch game with 4 people total and im only getting right now like 40 average maybe 60 when nothing going on with the radeon 9250256mb pci 1gb ram 2.8ghz cpu i mean wtf?!??

Their probolly at different default settings

On low low settings, a 440 runs CSS fine
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the FX-5200 is the better card of the 3 you have
the 9250 is close to the 5200 though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

ok cause eh w/e sucks should i get the 6600 or wait till summer to get new cards (wat will they cost) and i can wait
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.