Video Card Test - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2005, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Video Card Test

Hey guys,
Just wondering.. is there any free program out there thatl test your video cards capabilties? I just got a Geforce FX 5500 so i just wanted to test out its cabalities... thanks guys
__________________

foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 01:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

3dmark 01, and 03 demo's could work
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 03:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

id say 3dmark 01 for ur card, will provide an accurate benchmark, 03 is probly a bit over that cards head
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 03:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

good point, i agree
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

3dmark 01 and 03 should do well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Also Aquamark3:
http://www.aquamark3.com/am3-mirrors.htm

Also, grab hold of Everest (http://www.lavalys.com/products/down...ng=en&pageid=3) to see all the information about your card and the rest of your system.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default Re: Video Card Test

Quote:
Originally posted by foreverxyoung
Hey guys,
Just wondering.. is there any free program out there thatl test your video cards capabilties? I just got a Geforce FX 5500 so i just wanted to test out its cabalities... thanks guys
Doom 3 demo
Far Cry demo
Half Life 2 demo
SW: Republic Commando demo (great demo!)

just listed these cause 3DMarks were already listed.

pretty much those games will give your vid-card a good kick in the arse. and you may have some fun while playin' them too.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Unreal Tournament 2003/2004 are both common tests as well
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 12:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

thanks u guys =D ima dl 3dmark now

I just was wondering.. in your guys opinion ... Are these Specs either:

1: OMG Can this even turn on? lol
2: Must use ms dos to run everything
3: Crappy.. out of date
4: Ugh...
5: Unbearable
6: Usable... Internet Explorer >_>
7: Okay for modern day...ie Windows Media Player and Internet Explorer
8: Average Gamer - World of Warcraft Maybe? lol
9: Really good Gaming - Doom 3 Smoothly
10: Runs 1000000 + programs at once .. lol

Specs:

Amd Athlon 64 2800+ 1.8ghz
Asus Ai K8N nForce 3 250
BFG nVidia Geforce FX 5500 128mb
512 MB 3200 PQI
40 gig Western Digital
Onboard sound
Onboard Ethernet
Antec SLK1650B

Reason i was asking was because i thought the AMD Athlon 64 was really good buht it seems somtimes sluggish when i run the basic of programs
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

i dont know if im right by sayin this and im sure amders wont agree with me but.
64 bit isnt much of an advantage at the moment from 32 bit except in 64bit windows and I believe some kinda boost in games ? the 2800 is kind of the most basic of 64 and seeing as 64 doesnt really give much advantage now its kinda not the best processor... could also be ur ram thats slowin ye down
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.