Video Card temperature alarmingly high - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Video Card temperature alarmingly high

I got a GeForce FX5600 Ultra 256mb (my sig says 5700, I havent fixed it yet) and it is pretty hot. 61 Degrees Celsius hot. Is that too much? I think it is, seeing my processor is somewhere around 100 F, although it is water cooled and my card is not. Is that too hot? Should I get an aftermarkey vga cooler? Or would it be best to just hook it up to my water system?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Thats fine for a video card. I've seen mine his 80*C before.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

61 degrees idle? or during game play? seems ok to me though.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

61 at idle, and I'm not a gamer either, so that works to my advantage when worrying about card temps. But still, for me, it's far too high. I like to have my computer as cool as possible, but as long as I know it's not bad for it, I'm not really going to care.
Him is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

61 is ok for a graphics card but i would suggest you get a watercooling block for it to extend its life time a bit longer.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

What do you guys use to see the video card temp?
__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

phhh, i don't even need a fan on my graphics card!!!! hahah....man i need a new card....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Beedub you can't really compare your X800 to the FX5600 when it comes to temps. Yours will be that high because it's a powerful card especially compared to the FX 5600

If it's 61C full load you should be aright though but like steve said, getting a waterblock for it definitely couldn't hurt
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

If I got a waterblock for it, would I need to get a bigger water pump? I'm not sure what size it is, it's the stock one that came with it. I also dont know what size my tubes are on my system, any one know? It's the Thermaltake Aquarius II.u
Him is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah it's too hot, watercool it
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.