Video card question! plz read - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 10:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok, the wires are the Molex Connectors to connect to the PSU Molex Connectors. That little white plug on the back allows you to use 2 monitors on the card for better productivity. That card does have it, so you can use 2 monitors: http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....102-477-04.jpg (Adapter is in the middle of pic [not the yellow thing])
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nvidia do make some of their own cards, at least in Canada...
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Here's an NVIDIA made by nvidia card
http://www.hardavenue.com/reviews/gf6600gtagp1.shtml

Now they are uncommon, but they exist. Also dont buy an NVIDIA reference model, as the memory is clocked slower.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Default

Those are power supply connectors. That card requires a lead from your power supply that is used solely for that card. You should have plenty of them on your power supply that aren't used.

Just a friendly note, whyare you so set on the Radeon? Just wondering because I won both an ATI Radeon 9800 PRo and a BFG Geforce 6800GT and the Geforce is way better than the Radeon. The 3Dmark on my GT surpases the Radeon by 100 at least on a benchmark test. Also, PNY technologies also makes excellent Geforce cards.
TheRanger is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i guess im set on the radeon because all of my friends have them, and they all recomended them, i guess i will look into the Geforce. I had kinda just ruled it out though. All the replies in this post say geforce so...

thanks a bunch for your help
nastynizzle is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 03:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Yadgadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Currently the 6600GT I'd go with is the Gigabyte Since the price there has dropped to 199.99 and free 2nd day shipping, I have read reviews on this card and it does just as good as any other 6600GT card, and overclocks well.
__________________

__________________
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
52x TDK CD-RW
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.