Video Card Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default Video Card Question

Hi, I just recently bought a evga 6800 gt and it has 256mb of memory, my question is in the BIOS or CMOS (I forget) it says that the video aperture is 128mb and Im not sure if thats how it should be or do I need to up it to 256mb?

Thanks
__________________

Foyman is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to regnak
Default

No need to change it. Video Aperture is how much space the Video card could take from the RAM once it runs out of its own RAM. But on rare occasion will your card run out of 256MB or hell even 128MB so just leave it how it is as it isnt holding you back.
__________________

regnak is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

alright, thanks for the help
Foyman is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So that's what that means. I see...
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yeah I never knew what that meant before.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.