Video Card Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2005, 03:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Different cores. Like comparing a 2 GHz AMD to a 3.0 GHZ intel.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

like said before, unless you need the AIW features, get the 6800 GT.
Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Yeah, you will be dissapointed if you get the X800XL, because it lacks Shader Model 3, which is required to take advantage of all the new advanced DX9 features. Without it, you will have to play newer games in DX8.1 mode, which doesn't look bad, its just not as good. Get the 6800 GT, you won't regret it.

P.S. I have an X800 Pro...don't make the same mistake I did.
have you considered soft-modding your card to get 16 pipes?
you don't have to turn it into an XT to get the 16 pipes, however it really does make a difference
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

also I believe the 6800 GT has more pipelines that will make a difference.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 09:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 6800 GT has 16 pipes, same as the Ultra but with lower clock speeds
the 6800 vanilla has 12 pipes and 128MB non-GDDR3
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 11:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FadingTheory
Different cores. Like comparing a 2 GHz AMD to a 3.0 GHZ intel.
Didn't think of it that way but it makes sense.

Also if anyone could help me with installing my video card. Right now I have a 9800 pro with all the drivers and the catalyst stuff.
Could someone please explain to me what I should do and in what order for uninstalling/installing the hardware and the software, when I am ready to take the 9800 out and put the 6800 in. Thanks
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 11:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You should back up all your files first

Than take your pro out

Than put in the 6800GT

Than put in your windows CD and reformat



Switching graphics card's with the same OS usually causes problems and that's why we reinstall.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 03:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

thanks
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.