video card problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2005, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default video card problems

Does anyone know of any reason the x700 pro and geforce 6600 gt agp wont work in my emachines t2085. I got a new power supply, a 400w dynex and a 350w antec and neither helped. the x700 worked for a day or two then wouldnt boot the 6600gt wouldnt boot ever. I have tried numerous cards and tried them on other systems and they work fine. thanks

dan88 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

its an emachine. The used motherboard in there cant handle it i bet.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

What do you mean by "not boot"? Will it POST (the stuff you see on screen before the os loads)? If so, then it's a software probelms and I suggest getting some config that works, backing everythign up, and reformatting
If it does not post, then unplug all but the essentials from your computer (keep ram, HD, vid card, ect) and see if it boots them. If it doesn't, Isadly don't know enough to help, other than to say RAM the cards ASAP and try the new ones they send you.

Also, if any of those cards have a seperate power plug on them, it would be a good idea to make that work.

EDIT: was about to say that...
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7

okay i thought that it might have been a motherboard problem but emachines never mentioned it as being a problem, thats why i came on here.....and no it wont post i have tried turning it on with nothing else attached also and no luck i guess it must be a motherboard problem. thanks
dan88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.