Video Card Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2006, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Video Card Problem

I was running Windows update today and a driver update for my video card was available, so I downloaded it. I have a Radeon All-In-Wonder 9000 I believe.

Anyhow, my computer didn't like it. I have since tried to re-download all new drivers from ATI's site, and most things are back in order.

However, my screen savers no longer work. When the screen saver would normally turn on , a white box floats around saying "Could not find any compatible Direct3D devices". Also, I can no longer watch TV on my screen (the cable connects directly to the video card) because my "video driver is not working properly" or something to that effect.

Also, whenever I boot, there is "new hardware found" that is located on my video card, but it recognizes it as unknown. I try update the driver, but windows cannot find anything suitable because it doesn't what the hardware is.

Any suggestions??
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

roll back your drivers or try system restore
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

The only restore point I have is from yesterday, and I updated today, so I guess that would work.

However, what is exactly will be rolled back? I uninstalled a bunch of ATI software and then installed a bunch more after the update trying to fix everything.
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

it will restore the state of the operating system to that of the time it will be restored. so if you uninstalled nething before the restore point, that stuff will probably be gone. if you cant get the problems fixed, reinstall windows.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

I uninstalled/installed everything after the restore point, so it sounds like I should restore it to that point and everything will be like it was before the windows update (which was after the restore, just to be clear). Does that sound right?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 01:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

pretty much
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

"pretty much"....doesn't exactly inspire a lot of certainty/hope.

Anyone care to (honestly) use some more certainty in reassuring me that it will work?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Google, download and follow the Instructions of Driver Cleaner Pro.

Then install the newest Drivers for your specific card From ATI's website.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

try gong into the startup menu (where you go to select safe mode) and select last known good configuration and see if that works
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

So I finally just did a system restore and everything seems to be working except I can't watch TV. When I open my TV program, I get this error:

Language Resource file was not found:
C:\program files\ati multimedia\tv\TVDS???.RSC

I searched around on Google and couldn't find anything too worthwhile.

Any suggestions?

Also, why would a driver update from Windows update render parts of my video card unknown to windows??
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.